Win XP refuse to create boot disk, help needed. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2003, 08:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4
Default Win XP refuse to create boot disk, help needed.

Thx for checking this post out.

I am trying to upgrade my motherboard's BIOS (AMI Bios, MSI-845 PRO motherboard),so as to fix the glitch my motherboard has with ATI Video Cards.

Thing is,in order to do so,I have to restart the PC from a boot disk,before I flash the BIOS.So I do the following:

My Computer--->A: Drive(right click)--->format---->create MS-DOS startup disk

So far so good.

When I boot the computer from this floppy disk,the following happen:

i)I cant get into C: drive. When I try to access the hard disk,I get an "invalid drive specification" error message. I think there's something I have to do in autoexec.bat or config.sys, but I cant remember what it is

ii)The of this floppy disk says that it is Windows Millenium Edition (!?)

The strange thing is that I used the XP installation CD to format my hard disk,so there can be no trace of ever using Windows Me.

Any ideas?

I have one idea.Win XP is a terrible O/S. And so is Microsoft. I have never tried Linux before, but I am seriously thinking about it.

Any help will be greatly appreciated,cause I really need to install the ATI Radeon 9600 PRO video card,and I cant do it unless I boot from a floppy,flash the BIOS,and fix the glitch of MSI-845 motherboard with ATI cards.



Dead_Kennedy is offline  
Old 10-03-2003, 10:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7

You cann't see your C: drive because your using a FAT32 'win me' boot disk and your hd is probably NTFS format. NTFS is much different than FAT32 you might want to do some studying on it.

If you want a win xp boot disk you can either use the win xp cd to do that or make your own, or download them from By booting with win xp you will not get a dos prompt like you do if you were to boot from a fat32 'win me or win98' boot disk. The NTFS is a command prompt shell at best.
This is because NTFS is much higher in security than FAT32 - to prevent just anyone from using a boot disk and being able to change anything on a FAT32 level.

Indy is offline  
Old 10-03-2003, 04:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman

Where do you get that he's using NTFS?

It's a moot point anyway. You need a boot disk just to boot to the DOS prompt right?

If that's the case, then do a search for "Win98 boot disk" on the internet, format a floppy and copy all that to it. Then boot to "command prompt" and your set. I don't think you need an OS specific boot disk for what your trying to do.
Lostman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.