Win XP Pro x64 Edition - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2005, 10:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default Win XP Pro x64 Edition

I wasn't sure where to post this, software or hardware!?
I finally got my new system together and what do you know, I keep getting a blue screen error after the XP x64 loads all the drivers and then start windows. It says something about checking the disk for errors and viruses. There are neither on my drive, and to just make sure I low level formatted it too, and that message continues to come up.
I've never had this much trouble getting an OS to work. I'm just not seeing it as a hardware problem like it says. Is there something different in this installation process vs. other Windows platforms? Or are there compatibility issues, maybe? I would appreciate any input on this matter, thanks. If it helps I'm running Pentium D 820, so I can't use any other OS.
__________________

__________________
Intel PD 820; 3.36GHz, 31C idle 43C under load
Thermalright Ultra 120 CPU Cooler
3 120mm Delta case fans each @ 146 CFM
ASUS StrikerExtreme, WD Raptor 150Gb
4Gb Crucial Ballistix PC-6400 (5-6-6-21) @ 960MHz
LIAN LI PC-V2100APlus II, Sony & BTC DVD Burners
evga e-GeForce 8800GTX Superclocked 768MB
Antec TruePower Quattro 850W Modular Power Supply
icemakr is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 01:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Win XP Pro x64 Edition

Quote:
Originally posted by icemakr
I wasn't sure where to post this, software or hardware!?
I finally got my new system together and what do you know, I keep getting a blue screen error after the XP x64 loads all the drivers and then start windows. It says something about checking the disk for errors and viruses. There are neither on my drive, and to just make sure I low level formatted it too, and that message continues to come up.
I've never had this much trouble getting an OS to work. I'm just not seeing it as a hardware problem like it says. Is there something different in this installation process vs. other Windows platforms? Or are there compatibility issues, maybe? I would appreciate any input on this matter, thanks. If it helps I'm running Pentium D 820, so I can't use any other OS.
XP64 doesn't work on pentium's processor. only AMD's 64. they tell you that just before you download it. you can run regular xp on your Pentium D 820
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 01:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default

You know I dodn't even see that when I downloaded it. I thought I saw somewhere that it said it required x64, but going back on it it would seem you're right. Thanks

I figured out that the drivers cd that I didn't get with the board has a driver for the ide controller. Now i'm trying to figure out how to get that cd or make a bootable on if possible to auto load those drivers.?
__________________
Intel PD 820; 3.36GHz, 31C idle 43C under load
Thermalright Ultra 120 CPU Cooler
3 120mm Delta case fans each @ 146 CFM
ASUS StrikerExtreme, WD Raptor 150Gb
4Gb Crucial Ballistix PC-6400 (5-6-6-21) @ 960MHz
LIAN LI PC-V2100APlus II, Sony & BTC DVD Burners
evga e-GeForce 8800GTX Superclocked 768MB
Antec TruePower Quattro 850W Modular Power Supply
icemakr is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 01:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default Re: Re: Win XP Pro x64 Edition

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
XP64 doesn't work on pentium's processor. only AMD's 64. they tell you that just before you download it. you can run regular xp on your Pentium D 820
The 820, as with most of Intel's new processors, is 64bit enabled. "EM64T" So I doubt thats the problem.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 02:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

can someone tell us what is the different between xp64 and normal xp, is xp64 faster than xp ? since xp64 is 64bit
maroon1 is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 04:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Eric I thought X64 just didn't work on one brand of pentiums are you saying it's all 64 bit pentiums!
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 04:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

No I think he just didn't realize Intel has 64bit processors. But, either way, all of intel's 64 bit processors except the Itanium will support XP x64.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 05:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cedjunior
No I think he just didn't realize Intel has 64bit processors. But, either way, all of intel's 64 bit processors except the Itanium will support XP x64.
actually I though all intel were Itaniums
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 06:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

No the Itaniums are the the expensive +$2,000 model processors for servers.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 08:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

well, even with the amd 64bit proc. and all the drivers xp pro 64 bit is still fussy...
__________________

__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.