Win XP Pro and sata conflict - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2005, 03:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

the textsetup.oem is the most important file. it head you to the drivers. can you post a picture of your floppy disc and maxtor cd?
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 11:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 161
Default

Not really! I don't know how to do so!
__________________

pdxsk8er is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 11:46 PM   #13 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

give me your hard drive model and email. I will download the floppy drivers and email them to you
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 11:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 161
Default

I don't really kno the hard drive model. It's a 60G Maxtor 8M Cache Sata drive, thats all I know, I'll PM you my email.
pdxsk8er is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 12:15 AM   #15 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I need the model. can you look on the hard drive

try this too from your mobo cd. I posted this months ago for a person having problem like you. it should work from the maxter cd too. only pay attention to the flast part of the names.

My mobo didn't come with floppy. here are my instructions from notepad

If you lost your Driver Disk labeled as "Promise 376/378 Driver"
This file will teach you how to make one Driver Disk

First please perpare one formatted 1.44M Floppy
Then please copy necessary driver from MSI Driver CD

- Driver for Win98/ME
Please refer to Win98-ME.txt
Please Copy CDROM:\IDE\Promise\S-ATA\PDC20378\Driver\Win98-ME\ folder

- Driver for Win2000
Please copy CDROM:\IDE\Promise\S-ATA\PDC20378\Driver\Win2000\ folder
\IDE\Promise\S-ATA\PDC20378\Driver\fasttx2k file
\IDE\Promise\S-ATA\PDC20378\Driver\ULSATA file
\IDE\Promise\S-ATA\PDC20378\Driver\txtsetup.oem file

- Driver for WinXP
Please copy CDROM:\IDE\Promise\S-ATA\PDC20378\Driver\WinXP\ folder
\IDE\Promise\S-ATA\PDC20378\Driver\fasttx2k file
\IDE\Promise\S-ATA\PDC20378\Driver\ULSATA file
\IDE\Promise\S-ATA\PDC20378\Driver\txtsetup.oem file

- Driver for Win2003
Please refer to WS2003.txt
Copy CDROM:\IDE\Promise\S-ATA\PDC20378\Driver\Win2003\ folder
\IDE\Promise\S-ATA\PDC20378\Driver\fasttx2k file
\IDE\Promise\S-ATA\PDC20378\Driver\ULSATA file
\IDE\Promise\S-ATA\PDC20378\Driver\txtsetup.oem file

__________________
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 12:33 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 161
Default

It's a Diamondmax Plus 9 60GB Sata/150 HDD
pdxsk8er is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 12:42 AM   #17 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

my 200 gig is a 6Y200PO Maxtor has a lot of drives. I see if I can find it though
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 12:48 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 161
Default

OK, well I'm gonna research a little too. I think my bios needs a good ol' flashing to 1014 instead of 1010.
pdxsk8er is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 01:01 AM   #19 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

let me check on something. I got the same mobo as you

with bios 1012 and I have a sata 160. it not my boot drive though
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 01:08 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 161
Default

I got it working, it needed the ULsata from the maxtor cd and the txtsetup.oem file from the promise folder. Thanks for all the help! If any other problems occore I'll post it here.
__________________

pdxsk8er is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.