Win XP Pro and sata conflict - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2005, 05:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 161
Default Win XP Pro and sata conflict

Hey, I'm having problems with installing WinXP Pro on my computer, either a system32 error occures or it fails to find the txtsetup.oem file that is required.
I am using an Asus A7V8X, a Maxtor 60G 8M Sata, and am not having any luck getting Win XP Pro on there. The bios version on the mobo is 1010 and bios is already setup correctly, so I am straight forward there. What do I have to do to get it to install Win XP Pro?
__________________

pdxsk8er is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 05:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Go to the maxtor website and download their hard drive utility. BTW Maxtor sucks at making hard drives. Also, ASUS quality is going downhill IMO
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 10:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Hit f6 when you boot from cd. insert your sata drivers floppy
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 07:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 161
Default

but when I do, it says it cannot find the txtsetup.oem file and/or an error will appear that says theres something missing or wrong with the file. And sometimes if I don't F6 it it will try to setup and say an error has occured, a system32 error. All I have to say is the next time I get a motherboard, I'm going to get an Abit NF7-S mobo instead. My friend is using one and it rocks.
pdxsk8er is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 09:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

what your hard drive model?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 11:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

copy these file to your floppy Disc from your maxtor cd. you can download the iso cd from maxtor site, then extract it

maxtor cd
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 11:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 161
Default

dude I don't have a fast enough connection to download that image file and which exact files am I to copy. If its the ones I see then I will do so and start right away.
pdxsk8er is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 12:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 161
Default

Do I also need the files from the Fastrax promise folder on another floppy as well.
pdxsk8er is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 01:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

probably. if it has the textsetup.oem and the ulsata and the ultra files. those are the one you need. since you have xp pro you can just copy that folder and not the other ones
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 01:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 161
Default

I just tried it with out the fastrax folder on another floppy and the damn thing doesn't see the hard drive. I got the ULsata file loaded but it still doesn't see a damn thing. What else needs to be loaded to allow it to see the hard drive?
__________________

pdxsk8er is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.