Win XP Pro - IE - Tools>IE Options> Denied Access? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2004, 06:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2
Default Win XP Pro - IE - Tools>IE Options> Denied Access?

Hi,

Any help or idea how to fix this problem would be much appreciated, thank you.

Each time I try to access IE 6.01 Internet options under tools from the browser window, I receive the message : ( please view attached access_denied.gif file )

As I'm not very well versed on XP, I'd appreciate any ideas how I can fix this problem please.

I assume it has something to do with the global Admin settings, but not sure, where to go, how to fix or what I'm looking for!


Cheers

Trezz-au
__________________

Trezz-au is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 08:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Is this computer a member of a domain?
__________________

HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 08:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Hi,

As far as I'm aware no...

The PC is not hooked up to a network either, it's a stand alone system.

The other thing that may be of assistance, is that when the OS boots, it doesn't ask for a p/w at the login screen, it just enters via the default user.

I did a <CAN> & looked under users & I'm the only one listed there.
Trezz-au is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 08:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Default

are you sure that you have not created multiple accounts on the stand alone pc
__________________
My Spyware Site
www.becroydon.co.uk
Under Construction
becroydon is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 04:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 133
Default

Just had a customer ask me the same thing the other day, and I had no answer for them. So please someone post a fix! :-)

Are you sure there's no viri, spyware, or rogue program affecting your browser?

Can you post a copy of processes goin on in task manager when you try to access this part of IE?

also: what happens if you log on with your admin account?
Blueman is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 06:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

try goin into administrative tools and local security policy and looking around in there and see if u can find access to internet options
__________________

__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.