Win XP Pro Help ! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2004, 08:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 15
Default Win XP Pro Help !

Long story short : Got a new computer and did a fresh install of XP Pro as I prefer it to XP Home. I now have 2 problems :

1: I did the install without any issues however when I rebooted it asked me to select XP Pro or XP home as the OS. So I reinserted the XP Pro disc to recheck and see if I had accidentally partitioned the drive and was running 2 OS's ; I am not.

However there are 3 items in the list, the formated section that has XP Pro on it and 2 smaller ones 8 meg and 39 meg respectively that are unassigned. How can I consolidate them?

Now I get it asking me to install xp pro everytime I reboot in addition to asking me if I want to run Home or Pro. How do I remove the choices and make the damn thing boot properly?

2: While getting myself in this mess I am unable to install a driver for the Sm Bus Controller..the file for the damn thing is a floppy disc image ! How can I get the driver off it and install it? I ordered my new system without a floppy like a dumbass..any possible way I can get it burned to a cd?

Thanks for helping this dumbass out,


Mechzap is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408

how abt reformatting ur entire drives again? hmm abt the partitioning part, im sure u can combine them back again and ive forgotten how to do it sorrie

cheerios is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 10:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02

and steal a floppy from an old computer you have lying around, or borrow one from a friend, or you can buy one for $10 lol
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 12:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 228
Send a message via Yahoo to jaun1477

first when you do the install what you need to do is delete parttitions and make new
cuz if you leave and install over existing o/s you'll always have somthing left over the old parttitions
check everything before you install and follow the instruccions
but you must erase all parttitions first to have a clean install
amd athlon xp 2400+
1 apacer 256mb unb pc2700 cl2.5
motherboard msi kt4av via kt400a chipset based
1 ??? 512 mb pc2700
1 agp 8x/4x (geforce 4 predator mx4408x)
2 year old 21 magnavox monitor
1 aquos sharp 15\"tv
Seagate 40gb hd
DC Output: 420Watts Total: +5V/0~42A, +12V/0~18A
+3.3V/0~26A, -5V/0~0.8A, -12V/0~1.0A, +5VSB/0~2.5A.
jaun1477 is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 02:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 15

I did delete ALL the partitions, there are 2 unnamed/unassigned/blank areas on the disc. One is 8 Meg and one is 39 Megs.

The real problem is that when I reloaded XP Pro to check the partitions it now asks me everytime I boot what I want to do: Finish the install of XP, Load XP Home( which does not exsist), Or load XP Pro. How can I make that go away?

The last time I did a clean install off this disc it asked me that once then never again.
Mechzap is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 06:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 72

Try using delpart instead of Fdsik to get rid of the partitions if that doesnt work you could always do the low level format(get the software from your hard drives vendor) while this takes forever and a day it will wipe out and and all left over information

perkoset is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.