??Win XP Pro?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2005, 02:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 32
Default ??Win XP Pro??

How do I allow users to access some programs loaded on the computer. Some programs are "blocked" and I have to run them on the different user accts as "admin" and type in a pwd. I'd like to just change and give them access to the programs.

Thanks for your help.

BavarianWheels is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 04:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 24

Hey BavarianWheels

Basicly, when you install a program on your XP Pro OS, it usually ask you if you want to allow other users to access this program or just you.
If you choose Just me then the ability to access this program from other users account is denied.
If you want to change it you can open you Control Panle, go to Administrative Tools and open Service Components.
In the tree select computers -> my computer -> DCOM and there select your program.

Right click on it and select properties, and on security teb you can select access control, and defined it as you wish

Good Luck

Monday Night, It's Online Casino Time

simplejohn is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 06:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 32

Thx for the response.

I did this, but cannot find one of the programs. My son wants to play Half-Life 2 but I cannot find it in the list. It would be under Valve or something, but not there. Any suggestions?

Thx again.
BavarianWheels is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 10:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861

admin tools, computer management, local user and groups. pick groups. you will see the kind of user. pick user to set up your kind of account for them.

The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 02:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102

Hl2 would be in a folder called Sierra not valve. Look in there and you should see it!
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.