win XP keeps restarting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2005, 10:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 26
Default win XP keeps restarting

Hi guys.
When I go to shutdown windows it keeps restarting instead of shutting down. I clicked off 'restart automatically' in the system settings but then i get a blue screen at shutdown. Help!
__________________

johnegg12 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 10:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

Hmmm... First of all, did you build the PC yourself? because I've seen something similar happen when the Motherboard wires weren't connected right. Also, when did it start doing it? Recently, or as it always done it? Thridly, did you add any new software or patches?
__________________

__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 10:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 26
Default

No its a brand new pc, well a few months old. I have installed and removed a few programmes since then. Heard that roxio causes this problem but i dont have that. It started about 3 weeks ago. Cheers
johnegg12 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 11:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Roxio is more than likey your problem. Was it easy cd creator 6?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 11:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 26
Default

No i dont have Roxio installed you see.
johnegg12 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 12:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

What are some of the other programs you have installed or uninstalled recently. It could be a number of programs that have caused this, due to the fact they mess with the registry. You could try a demo of registry mechanic and fix a few problems and that might help. But without a list or idea of what you run or uninstalled recently i cant give a definate answer.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 12:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 26
Default

I have a copy of reg mechanic, ill give that a try cheers.
johnegg12 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 12:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Or you can try glarysoft registry repair. It works better than registry mechanic as i just found out.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 04:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 26
Default

Cheers lads, its working , for now! I ran Reg mechanic and that seems to have fixed it.
johnegg12 is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 04:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Also do START>RUN>MSCONFIG...then click the startup tab. Make sure you only have running at startup what you want running. When new programs are installed sometimes they try to auto run or have things that run in the background. just make sure that everything that loads up is what you want. It might be trying to load things that you already uninstalled but it never took them off your startup. The last thing i can think of is to hit CTRL+ALT+DEL and click on the processes tab and make sure that they are all are what you want running. If there is something like a virus or spyware it would be running also. Ifyour not sure you can always google them and get a description of what the process is that is running. That might help from future freezes.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.