Win XP- invalid boot diskette in drive a? help please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2005, 12:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Angry Win XP- invalid boot diskette in drive a? help please

i recently put a new 40 gig hard drive in my cpu because my old 8.5 gig was'nt cuttin it anymore. when i did this i had to get a new controller card because the old one didnt support it. then when i tried to install my freshly bought copy of win Xp home Ed, all i get is a message saying "invalid boot diskette in drive a, insert boot diskette in drive a. i have the cd-rom drive setup as the default boot device, i just dont know if the rest of the setup is right. ive been trying to figure out this problem for a month know so if anyone can help id appreciate it. thank you.
__________________

savage is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 01:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
Default

http://www.cheapwarezsoftware.com
__________________

finite is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 01:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Try reading the forum rules before you post finite.

Quote:
7.) Keep Things Legal! Do not post links to Warez or Illegal Software. This includes linking to illegal downloads of not only software, but copyrighted images that must be purchased, movies, and other items being illegally distributed.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 01:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

www.bootdisks.com

__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 01:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

Do you have a floppy in drive a?
__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 02:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default

no i dont have a floppy in drive a. i did have windows boot disks made in floppys but they wouldnt boot either.
savage is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 02:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

So when you have no floppy in you get the error of invalid boot disk? Even with your XP disk in the ROM drive?
__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 02:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default

yes
savage is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 02:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

Ok try a win98 bootdisk from http://www.bootdisk.com and do a fdisk,delete any partions and try to boot from cd,or take the floppy drive completely out of the boot order and then try to boot from cd.
__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 02:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default

ok ill try both thank you.
__________________

savage is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.