Win XP- how many pcs? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2005, 03:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well honestly the rules are grey, and us with 1 copy of XP and 2 PC's is not that bad

I have the same CD key in like 4 comptuers now, each have their own CD Keys but they ran outta activations
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 03:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to MrBebop26 Send a message via Yahoo to MrBebop26
Default

You can only put one copy of Windows XP on one machine but I have read that Microsoft doesnt mind up to three, I would not push it though, just not worth it. Just becasue they dont mind it doesnt mean they wont find out and sue you.

-Ryan
__________________

MrBebop26 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 03:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

The cd is a valid purchased copy and it is not illegal to install it on multiple computers. i have checked into it. that is the type of license you get with it but if you want to blame me for piracy go ahead i wont lose any sleep over it
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 03:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

No reason to get snappy, buddy. The legal way to do that would be if it was a VLK (Volume License Key) copy. In which case, you will get one key and CD, but you have to purchase a seperate license for each machine. It is obviously cheaper than a full version of the OS, but still costs money.

There is no way around it, or other wy to put it. It is simply illegal to put a single copy of Windows on more than one machine. The rules are very gray, but thats how it is. Yes, MS prolly dosent mind about the 3 activations, but that is the home user. They are more concerned with big companies having all legit versions.

Jusst because they dont check for this sort of thing, dosent mean it isnt illegal.
Him is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 05:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Him
http://techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=53328

Read that thread.
Yes but read this...........


1.1 Installation and use. You may install, use, access,
display and run one copy of the Software on a single computer,
such as a workstation, terminal or other device ("Workstation
Computer"). The Software may not be used by more than one
processor at any one time on any single Workstation Computer.

Nothing is said that you cant install it on multiple computers. Technically you can as long as you agree to that term.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 06:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

WOW, the never ending discussion...
This is something that will never end. how much will it cost me in the end is the question you must answer. This is from both sides.
Tothe consumer, $200 for an OS seems high, so OK, i'll install it on all my machines and save the extra money. if your caught, it's going to cost you a ton more than the $600 would have.
the the business, Compnay 1(for example), it's $15,000 for all the needed licenses and assosiated cost. They purchase 1500 computer licenses for 1300 machine and keep an extra 200 so they can grow.
Company 2, buys one, $200 version off the shelf and then installs it on 1500 workstations. This saves them 29,800, right? no, in the end, when they get audited by MS or any of the other antipiracy companies, they find they are out of compliance. Oh, and it's a $5000 fine for every error. so that is like 7,495,000 in fines...
Yes, the number are inflated, but the truth is not. Sure, you can get away with using your 1 install on several machines, and sure, why not do it, right? well first, it's not legal. Whether that means anything to you or not it up to you, but in a court of law, you were wrong. Second, it's illegal.
Weather or not you want to admit it, and no matter how much you want to debate the minute details of the EULA, you will still come down to the same conclusion. You can only install and use a Windows OS on 1 machine. Any more than that, and you are in violation of the EULA that you accepted when you installed the OS.
if anyone has something that will show that I am wrong, without question, then post it.

Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 06:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Inaris
Weather or not you want to admit it, and no matter how much you want to debate the minute details of the EULA, you will still come down to the same conclusion. You can only install and use a Windows OS on 1 machine. Any more than that, and you are in violation of the EULA that you accepted when you installed the OS.
if anyone has something that will show that I am wrong, without question, then post it.

Good luck

Tell that to defense attorneys that nit pick every little detail. It says it right there........ You can have it on multiple computers, but not to be running in more than 1 instance at any given time.

If you ever had to go to court over this matter. You can easily get out of it. If you point out what it says in the EULA, which is a legally binding contract.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 07:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

You are right.. never ending discussion.
let me put it to you this way.... small chance you'll get caught. if you do. MS is more worried bout pirated sellers... or what ever ud like to call em.
anyhow id say use the EULA thing if u get caught which you wont... i HIGHLY doubt it. but just dont tell the world u did. if u decide to that is. and no i am NOT telling u to do it legally or illegaly im just saying be smart.

also every one breaks the law once in a while no one can say they never have. so plz no one post that they have never broke a law...
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 08:03 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Man, it's like an on-line court here.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 08:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

It is.. i love court debates
btw love ur sig lol
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.