win xp hangs,resets or various blue screens - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2004, 07:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 173
Exclamation win xp hangs,resets or various blue screens

this is starting to really wind me up (young ppl visit so keeping it clean) my pc runs fine then BANG! either resets,hangs (can not do anything at all) or blue screen. blue screen messages change everytime i get 1!
sys spec- 2.6ghz intel celeron,
onboard sound, lan+usb
is7-e mobo
ti4200 64mb gfx (soon xfx geforce 5950)
80+40 western digital hdds
cd burner
any help/suggestions?
__________________

__________________
e6700 @ 3.0ghz stock cooling
bfg nforce 680i
dual bfg 8800gtx
Corsair XMS2-6400 C4 TwinX PC2-6400 2GB
Barracuda 7200.10 320GB 16MB Cache SATA-II x2
Enermax Galaxy 850W
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue 2000dpi Gaming Mouse
Saitek Eclipse 2 Illuminated Keyboard
NEC LCD20WGX2 Silver Widescreen 20" TFT Monitor
crward is offline  
Old 05-08-2004, 09:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 173
Default

forgot to add, running on sp1 with full updates, except for the 1s i dont need
__________________

__________________
e6700 @ 3.0ghz stock cooling
bfg nforce 680i
dual bfg 8800gtx
Corsair XMS2-6400 C4 TwinX PC2-6400 2GB
Barracuda 7200.10 320GB 16MB Cache SATA-II x2
Enermax Galaxy 850W
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue 2000dpi Gaming Mouse
Saitek Eclipse 2 Illuminated Keyboard
NEC LCD20WGX2 Silver Widescreen 20" TFT Monitor
crward is offline  
Old 05-08-2004, 10:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 15
Default

Check Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Event Viewer -> System and look for Errors.
AnimOrC is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 04:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 173
Default

i'm using a 550 watt psu, 512ddr (kensington 3200 i think). i have updated the bios to the latest too. on hdds on ide. i have a 256ddr 4000 as backup but i still get the same thing. checked the errors and all (theres bloody loads) code 102
__________________
e6700 @ 3.0ghz stock cooling
bfg nforce 680i
dual bfg 8800gtx
Corsair XMS2-6400 C4 TwinX PC2-6400 2GB
Barracuda 7200.10 320GB 16MB Cache SATA-II x2
Enermax Galaxy 850W
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue 2000dpi Gaming Mouse
Saitek Eclipse 2 Illuminated Keyboard
NEC LCD20WGX2 Silver Widescreen 20" TFT Monitor
crward is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 07:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default Re: win xp hangs,resets or various blue screens

Quote:
Originally posted by crward
this is starting to really wind me up (young ppl visit so keeping it clean) my pc runs fine then BANG! either resets,hangs (can not do anything at all) or blue screen. blue screen messages change everytime i get 1!
sys spec- 2.6ghz intel celeron,
onboard sound, lan+usb
is7-e mobo
ti4200 64mb gfx (soon xfx geforce 5950)
80+40 western digital hdds
cd burner
any help/suggestions?

What is the brand name of the motherboard?
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 10:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 173
Default

it's an abit is7_e
__________________
e6700 @ 3.0ghz stock cooling
bfg nforce 680i
dual bfg 8800gtx
Corsair XMS2-6400 C4 TwinX PC2-6400 2GB
Barracuda 7200.10 320GB 16MB Cache SATA-II x2
Enermax Galaxy 850W
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue 2000dpi Gaming Mouse
Saitek Eclipse 2 Illuminated Keyboard
NEC LCD20WGX2 Silver Widescreen 20" TFT Monitor
crward is offline  
Old 05-11-2004, 08:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 173
Default

i've seen other posts suggesting ppl to use hijackthis, so i thought i'd give it a go and see if you guys see anything that's not ment to be there
Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
Scan saved at 13:44:02, on 11/05/2004
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton Personal Firewall\NISUM.EXE
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton Personal Firewall\ccPxySvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\AdvTools\NPROTECT.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\SAVScan.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\CCPD-LC\symlcsvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
D:\storage\Downloads\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://uk.red.clientapps.yahoo.com/c...o/bt_side.html
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://uk.red.clientapps.yahoo.com/c...o/bt_side.html
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://uk.red.clientapps.yahoo.com/c...rch.yahoo.com/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Connection Wizard,Shellnext = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/
R3 - Default URLSearchHook is missing
O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O3 - Toolbar: (no name) - {E0E899AB-F487-11D5-8D29-0050BA6940E3} - (no file)
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccRegVfy] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Advanced Tools Check] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~3\AdvTools\ADVCHK.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KernelFaultCheck] %systemroot%\system32\dumprep 0 -k
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
O16 - DPF: ppctlcab - http://www.pestscan.com/scanner/ppctlcab.cab
O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} (QuickTime Object) - http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
O16 - DPF: {2FC9A21E-2069-4E47-8235-36318989DB13} (PPSDKActiveXScanner.MainScreen) - http://www.pestscan.com/scanner/axscanner.cab
O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/2...ll/xscan53.cab
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.co...104.2973032407
O16 - DPF: {A0F0D762-D1DE-43AF-B70E-D87864743EB3} - http://204.177.92.201/nslite/nslite.cab
O16 - DPF: {B9191F79-5613-4C76-AA2A-398534BB8999} - http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yab_af.cab
O16 - DPF: {CE28D5D2-60CF-4C7D-9FE8-0F47A3308078} (ActiveDataInfo Class) - https://www-secure.symantec.com/tech...a/SymAData.dll
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/s...sh/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {DF780F87-FF2B-4DF8-92D0-73DB16A1543A} (PopCapLoader Object) - http://utu.popcap.com/games/popcaploader_v5.cab
O16 - DPF: {E77C0D62-882A-456F-AD8F-7C6C9569B8C7} (ActiveDataObj Class) - https://www-secure.symantec.com/tech...ActiveData.cab
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{B573B92A-D500-4FDD-ADF5-5FEF16203EF4}: NameServer = 194.72.9.55 194.74.65.86
__________________
e6700 @ 3.0ghz stock cooling
bfg nforce 680i
dual bfg 8800gtx
Corsair XMS2-6400 C4 TwinX PC2-6400 2GB
Barracuda 7200.10 320GB 16MB Cache SATA-II x2
Enermax Galaxy 850W
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue 2000dpi Gaming Mouse
Saitek Eclipse 2 Illuminated Keyboard
NEC LCD20WGX2 Silver Widescreen 20" TFT Monitor
crward is offline  
Old 05-11-2004, 10:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 617
Default

i dont see anything really
wrong except these

run hjt put a check next to these close all browsers and hit fix


R3 - Default URLSearchHook is missing
O3 - Toolbar: (no name) - {E0E899AB-F487-11D5-8D29-0050BA6940E3} - (no file)
O16 - DPF: {A0F0D762-D1DE-43AF-B70E-D87864743EB3} - http://204.177.92.201/nslite/nslite.cab
__________________

__________________
AdAware | Spybot S&D 1.4 | spyware guard & spyware blaster |

How did I get infected in the first place By Tony Klein

If you use IE I suggest using thes two programs IE Hosts & IE-SPYAD


Lobos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.