Win XP boot errors - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2005, 05:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to Total Immortal
Default

I did, I tried swapping the ram and nothing works. And it still won't detect my keyboard. I tried a different keyboard, and it would not detect that either. I'm wondering if there is a problem with the current floppy drive. It seems like that might be where the ticking is coming from. Is there a way I can turn off the floppy drive? I tried booting up the computer without the floppy connected, and it gave me some stupid error about the floppy drive failing.
On a side note, I installed the hard drive as a slave on my dad's office computer, and when it booted up, the keyboard and the mouse did not work either.

I think the biggest issue here is I NEED to get the computer to detect the keyboard, because I obviously can't do **** without it. I can't get into BIOS, I can't tell it to boot off of the XP CD...
__________________

Total Immortal is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 05:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you can disable floppy detection in the bios, or better yet, unhook the floppy drive..
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 06:07 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to Total Immortal
Default

Well I tried that, and it's not the floppy drive... the beeping is coming from the mother board, I was able to figure that much out. it even beeps if I power up the computer with zero drives attached. What could be causing this beeping/ticking? It doesn't start beeping right away, it usually takes about 10 seconds after the on button is pushed, right before it tries to detect which drives are connected on the IDE channels.
Total Immortal is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 06:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

your mobo is probably bad. if the keyboard isnt working, its probably safe to say its done
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 06:16 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to Total Immortal
Default

Well ****, looks like I'm off to Newegg.. this motherboard is an ASUS A7N266-C. Do you think I could recycle the ram from this with a new mobo? I have two 512meg Corsair XMS chips, and it would be a shame to waste them.
Total Immortal is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 06:18 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

hell yea, keepem. just get a new mobo that supports them
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.