win explorer shows previous cd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2003, 12:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to thundersticks
Exclamation win explorer shows previous cd

I have winxp sp1,cdrw,dvd drive,every time i use a cd then try a different cd my drives still show the ejected cd in them?
the only way i can use the drive again is to reboot, i refresh the empty drive same problem, it still shows the icon of previous cd.
startup has very few items in it and all valid ones,this is especially a problem when installing games on 2 cds,when it asks for cd2 and wont give a option to change drive letter it still reads cd1!

autorun will not function, and the cd's don't appear to spin up.

i cant seem to find any info on this prob any help would be appreciated.

thundersticks is offline  
Old 12-21-2003, 01:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW

Ive had this problem in the past... Im pretty sure its a bug in SP1 though I could be wrong.
Reason why I say this is because it started when I updated to SP1. It wasnt too much of a problem for me as I learnt to live with it, But later on I formatted/Reinstalled to XP pro (without no Serveice Packs) and now I dont get that problem.
So I havent updated to SP1 since

Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 12-21-2003, 03:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

i remember having this problem, it could have been from SP1, but i remember that when i uninstalled norton anti-virus the problem went away. i don't trust SP1 or any winXP updates at all, i do not have them installed and have not had any problems with my computer.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-21-2003, 11:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

actually this has happened to me when using Windows 98 SE, it just takes the first CD label and uses that until reboot, it is not really a problem though. Drives generally do not like to be re-labelled
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-22-2003, 09:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to thundersticks

thanx guys will try un-installing sp1
thundersticks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.