win 98se upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2004, 12:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default win 98se upgrade

i have an old hp pavilion 6730 ( with 64meg ram; windows 98se; 10gig hd )

im going to upgrade it to 256 meg ram

anyways, i was wondering if 98se can support for usb 2.0 and firewire - the reason being, i wanted to put an external hard drive that i can use on all my comps . . .


if not, can i upgrade to win 2k and how much ram does it need?
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-10-2004, 12:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

With 256MB, there would be no problem with upgrading to Win2k, in fact, I suggest it. With 64MB, though, you can run 2k but little else. Win98SE does not natively support USB 2.0 and FireWire, but you can add that capability with the right drivers installed.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-10-2004, 12:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Daf
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 36
Default

Hi,

The first question is whether your motherboard supports the 2.0 standard. IF your pavilion is older than mid 2002 or so then it doesn't. But you can get a pci card that will add that capability - and you should make sure that that card has drivers for Win98se. Most probably do.

The same will be true for firewire and Win98se.

Something along these lines would work for you:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...111-602&depa=0

Daf
Daf is offline  
Old 07-10-2004, 01:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

no, i mean as an add-on card in the pci slot . . .

considering i dont have many open pci slots, i'll porbably get the usb/firewire/ethernet one from siig
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.