Win 98SE Runtime Error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2005, 10:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default Win 98SE Runtime Error

I get this error message when I try and get on internet explorer! -

MICROSOFT VISUAL C++ RUNTIME LIBRARY

RUNTIME ERROR!

PROGRAM:C:\\WINDOwS\EXPLORER.EXE

R6025
- PURE VIRTUAL FUNCTION CALL




HEELLPPPP! PLLEEAASSE!!
__________________

__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 12:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 17
Default

I would first try another browser before you reload the OS

Try netscape or firefox

You can also go to run and type in the URL like:
http://www.yahoo.com and see if that works, but it uses IE

I think the best thing is to start by getting another browser installed on the PC. Do this by going to another PC download the install files to the hard drive then copy them to a CD and take it to the PC in question

Install the new browser off the CD and see if that works

If this happened recently then there is a command that can be run with a boot disk to revert the registry to a previous time so that may work also

Command is SCANREG /RESTORE

Call if you need more help!!
__________________

ccchero is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Maybe try reinstalling Internet Explorer. That my help.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 03:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

FireFox is alot better than IE... try it out
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 03:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bradybnmci
FireFox is alot better than IE... try it out
Not to bash you or anything, but I must say that Opera is indeed better than Firefox

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 02:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 17
Default

You can't reinstall IE in 98 it is binded to the OS

Try to go to netscape and install that browser
ccchero is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 04:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I have the exact same problem on my laptop starting last week, with ALOT of different programs.

I am beginning to think it's a virus
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 04:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Win 98SE Runtime Error

Quote:
Originally posted by Ace No-Money
I get this error message when I try and get on internet explorer! -

MICROSOFT VISUAL C++ RUNTIME LIBRARY

RUNTIME ERROR!

PROGRAM:C:\\WINDOwS\EXPLORER.EXE

R6025
- PURE VIRTUAL FUNCTION CALL




HEELLPPPP! PLLEEAASSE!!
Anyone notice the two \\, this looks like the adress of a network drive.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 04:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Oh yeah i just found out im infected with this virus

http://www.extendia.com/Virus_info3.htm

http://www.google.ca/search?client=f...=Google+Search
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 06:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Go to File>Run>appwiz.cpl. If that doesn't work (assuming its NOT a virus...) then go back to the run line, or in Dos, and type in:

regsvr32 /u "c:\program files\common files\microsoft shared\triedit\triedit.dll"
regsvr32 "c:\program files\common files\microsoft shared\triedit\triedit.dll"
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.