Win 98 Wont Boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2004, 07:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7
Default Win 98 Wont Boot

Ok The computer has Windows 98 installed everything seems to check out fine on start-up, it gets through the Splash screen to the really light blue screen and stops, nothing comes up? I have tried booting into Safe Mode and Step by Step Config mode but it always does the same thing, after stopping nothing happens and the harddrive dose not indicate any prosseccing anyone have any idea on how to fix this one?

Abstract3000 is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 02:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

Sounds like something is stalling up your PC, possibly in your AUTOEXEC.BAT or CONFIG.SYS, or mabye SYSTEM.INI. How long ago and what were you doing when this started happening? The first thing I would do is boot from a boot disk and check these files. Then, if nothing was wrong, I would re-install Windows 98.

beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 09:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ

Have you installed any new hardware or software?

What has changed that made it work before and not now?
ADZ is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 04:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 129

Did you try Last Known Good Configuration?
-AnGuiSh- is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 02:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

Originally posted by -AnGuiSh-
Did you try Last Known Good Configuration?
Does that option exist in Windows 98? I don't think it does.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 05:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826

try boot from CDROM

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 05:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 26

just boot to the command prompt from f8 or using a floppy... and on the prompt run the following commands:

c:\windows>scanreg /fix
restart the system then... if it does not work boot back to the command prompt and run

c:\windows>scanreg /restore
it will list a few dates select the one on which ur system was booting fine and press enter.

it should take care of the problem.. if it doesn't do get back

Layman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.