win 98 shut down issue - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2003, 07:40 AM   #31 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 63
Default

thanks i willl do that and let you know how it goes
__________________

lheggie is offline  
Old 08-23-2003, 07:58 AM   #32 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

well what you said about the 15 steps i have noticed some of what you said only applies for systems like NT, 2000, XP or 2003.

with the turning on by itself after 10-15 mins of being shut down that's just weird
so you've got the problem tracked down to the power supply? maybe it would be worth replacing it - it shouldn't be too hard to replace it as long as you know how to plug the new one up
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-23-2003, 08:55 AM   #33 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 63
Default

ordered a new power supply and will see how it goes. I am keeping my fingers crossed.
lheggie is offline  
Old 08-24-2003, 12:52 AM   #34 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

the 15 steps came from a site,..maybe that explains why some didnt work with 98.
devlish96 is offline  
Old 08-24-2003, 07:56 AM   #35 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 63
Default

hoping that the power supply will be here early next week so that i can give it a try. I am keeping my fingers crossed and will let you know how it goes.
__________________________________________________ __

As for now i am working on another computer. Just got a new (older) mobo and am trying to decided what from the old system is still usable and what i need to replace. So far i know that i need a new case and power supply.

have older monitor so i am looking around for atx power supply that i can plug monitor into to power it as i do not want to have to purchase a new monitor just to give the system away.

Any suggestions about power supply and case would be welcomed !!

thank you all so much for all of your help.
lheggie is offline  
Old 08-24-2003, 05:58 PM   #36 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

alright,..goodluck, buddy...i hope it works!
devlish96 is offline  
Old 08-24-2003, 08:22 PM   #37 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 63
Default

i hope that it works as well.
lheggie is offline  
Old 08-25-2003, 03:48 AM   #38 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it better come with instructions, it can damage the system if you don't put it in properly
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-25-2003, 09:46 AM   #39 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 63
Default

i hope so too.. if not i will ask for help before i try to install it. I have mobo manual hope that it would be of some help.
lheggie is offline  
Old 08-28-2003, 07:28 PM   #40 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 63
Default

installed new power supply and computer now shuts down totally.
thank you all for your help and advice.
__________________

lheggie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.