Win 98 boot disk - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 10-01-2005, 06:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default Win 98 boot disk

my friend has managed to crash his computer somehow - it wouldn't do anything so we've prepared the PC for reinstallation of win 98 but we don't have the system disk, we've tried boot.com and putergeek but neither of them work once inserted into the floppy drive of his PC (we get the error message - invalid system disk)

anybody have any suggestions on how we can resolve this problem?

Old 10-01-2005, 06:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie

you are extracting the files on to the floppy and not just copying over a zipped file to the floppy, correct?

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
Old 10-01-2005, 06:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera

Yes, you have to start the program you downloaded, or extract the files to the diskette if it's a ZIP file.
Old 10-01-2005, 07:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie

Send a message via Yahoo to real_in
Default Upgrade

I guess Microsoft Win98 comes with Bootable Disk .. so there is no need to boot from FDD

Who uses Fdd these days..

Well the best Suggestion would be "Upgrade" Ya it is high time for u guyz to upgrade to Microsoft WinXp.... 98 is ****.. :P

Cheers !!

Old 10-01-2005, 08:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned

http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm

download the ME bootdisk
don't listen to the indians
Old 10-01-2005, 10:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie

win xp is great unless your computer can not run it fast. I have many friends I have downgraded to win98 cause the machines just cant cut it. For them win98 runs much faster. If you have a fast rig xp all the way if not win98 is a great option.

I do not accept support questions via PM