Win 7 upgrade... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2009, 05:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 52
Default Win 7 upgrade...

Okay, my wife bought be a copy of windows 7 ultimate 64 edition. Problem is I am running vista ultimate 32. Obviously, because of this, I cannot upgrade to windows 7 64. My question is, can i put XP 64 back on my computer and upgrade from there? If this has been asked a million times, I apologize.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
maximas is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,569
Default Re: Win 7 upgrade...

No, you cannot do an upgrade install from XP.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 05:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,569
Default Re: Win 7 upgrade...

Pretty sure you can't do an upgrade install from XP to 7 though, Osiris. You can, however format the drive with the Upgrade media and do a fresh install. A member here posted that they tested it and worked; it's on the first page of the Windows 7 FAQ.

Edit: Here:

Quote:
Unsupported Upgrade Scenarios

* Upgrades to Windows 7 from the following operating systems are not supported:

o Windows 95, Windows 98, Windows Millennium Edition, Windows XP, Windows Vistaฎ RTM, Windows Vista Starter, Windows 7 M3, Windows 7 Beta, Windows 7 RC, or Windows 7 IDS
From here: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l...8WS.10%29.aspx
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 05:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Win 7 upgrade...

I had Vista on my mind when I wrote that, then I deleted my post
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 05:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,569
Default Re: Win 7 upgrade...

I saw that .
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 05:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,581
Default Re: Win 7 upgrade...

Hi,

Paul Thurrot over at Winsupersite has written a very informative article outlining the ways in which you can perform a clean install using Windows 7 upgrade media. All are safe and legal:

SuperSite for Windows: Clean Install Windows 7 with Upgrade Media
__________________
Alvin.C

Desktop PC Build 2 - Mini ITX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 @ 3.4 GHz | Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Mini | ARCTIC Freezer 11 LP CPU Cooler | ASUS P10S-I Mini ITX Server Motherboard | Global Memory 32GB DDR4-2133 ECC RAM | Kingston SSDNow UV400 128GB SSD + 2x128GB SSD RAID 0 | Corsair SF600 600W SFX Modular PSU | SilverStone Milo ML08 Mini ITX Case (with carry handle) |


Desktop PC Build 1 - Micro ATX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X | Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler | Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 Micro ATX Motherboard | Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-2133 RAM | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB SSD + 2x500GB SSD RAID 0 | Seasonic Platinum Fanless 520W Modular PSU | NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case |
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 08:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Win 7 upgrade...

is this an upgrade disc or is it the full thing but you're just wanting to upgrade so you won't lose data?

You never really say what kind of software it was, only that you wanted to upgrade.
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 08:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 52
Default Re: Win 7 upgrade...

I was initially trying to launch from Vista Ultimate edition... no dice. I then tried to do a full format and for some reason Windows 7 would not let me. I kept all the garbage from the vista install - I say garbage because I had saved everything to my back up hard drive. So now I have to go in an delete everything I don't need. That said, it was painless besides that getting Windows seven up and running. Thanks everyone for being so helpful. This is one of the best forums I have been on as of late. No childish crap. I likey.
__________________
maximas is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 10:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default Re: Win 7 upgrade...

From the supersite link it looks like you basically run the instalation like you normally would when you want to do a clean install and it either works or you can do the tweaks in the registry to activate it.
__________________
Mr. LL is offline  
Old 11-15-2009, 08:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 52
Default Re: Win 7 upgrade...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. LL View Post
From the supersite link it looks like you basically run the instalation like you normally would when you want to do a clean install and it either works or you can do the tweaks in the registry to activate it.
Yes. It seems that way. Oh well, I got it taken care of now. I just seems odd that it would not let me format my hard drive. Also, the paperwork I received with it said it would not work if I used DBAN OR fdisk prior to installation. That just seems odd to me.
__________________

__________________
maximas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Sets Windows 7 Pricing, Upgrade Programs Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 58 07-10-2009 10:04 AM
a little upgrade help Fulcrum System Upgrades 26 06-22-2009 03:15 AM
Few options for upgrade... stay with AMD? Switch to Intel? M4A1 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-09-2009 11:07 PM
Upgrade Question Brodom New Systems | Building and Buying 6 03-01-2009 02:02 PM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 03:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.