Win 64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2005, 06:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default Win 64

Hi. The friend of mine is want to buy AMD 64 processor based system. He has Windows XP Pro (regular, 32 bit) from his old comp. So, can he install his old windows for 64 bit processor, and if so, would it be just wasting the 64 extension of his new processor, or it still can be usefull.
And another question, is the build 1433 the most recent version of windows XP 64 bit edition Pro, if not, which one is the newest?

Thanks
-AndreiD
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 06:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I would just stick with Pro for now, there aren't any 64-bit apps ATM.
just wait till after winXP 64 is officially released, then people might make 64-bit programs
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 07:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It just got offically released

Yeah stick with normal pro for a while, it's going to be a few months before XP and 64 are fully worth it.

I have a 64bit app as well, Cubase
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 12:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 148
Default

I would wait for the support to get better. Many companies have not updated their drivers and applications for XP 64. Also some installers are coded in 16bit. The 16bit sub system has been removed from XP 64, so some installers (like the ones included with older games and some applications) will not function.

-GrayWolf
GrayWolf is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 06:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

wait until it gets released in a full build and more appz get ported.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.