win 3.11 and improper DOS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2005, 01:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default win 3.11 and improper DOS

i've got a old school laptop with 2 problems.
pentium 75
8mb RAM
700mb HD
3 1/2" floppy
NO CD-ROM

i just want a word processor so i can take notes better durin' class and that i can put onto a desktop to print out if i need to.

problem 1

@ startup a red box comes up

"Save to disk feature missing or corrupted, Save to disk feature disabled"

problem 2

DOS is to new?
i do the whole boot disk thing, type "win" and i get this

"you started your coputer with a version of ms-dos incompatible with this version of windows"

ugh.
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 02:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

What version of DOS you got?
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 04:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

I would say dos is too old. I ran 3.11 on dos 6.22 not too long ago. You should probably get some dos floppys and reinstall. PM if you need some.

This threads got me all nostalgic, I think Ill go play Doom on DOSBox..
IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 12:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

You could try putting win 95 on it if your ms dos is too new for 3.11.
mikee is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 12:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

DOS 6.22 should run 3.11 easily and as far as i know that was the last offical build of DOS. I used 6.22 to install Win95 a long time ago. Also used it to install 3.11 and had no problems.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 12:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

alrighty, thanks guys, i'll try to look around for dos 6.22
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.