Win 2K reboot loop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2006, 01:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Win 2K reboot loop

So one of the computers here at work got a virus. Big deal. Went down the list of the repair and delete. OK fine. Please restart your computer. OK. Now that's all it does. It has Win2000 on it. I get the 2K splash screen, and a very fast blue background, then reboot. Same issue with safe mode. It starts to load drivers, gets to one that says c:\system32\drivers\agp400.sys, pauses for a few seconds, then the blue background flash, then reboot. Stops at the same place every time. This computer hasn't had any hardware changes. Ever. It has current MS patches and current virus updates. I thought maybe bad RAM, memtest won't run on the thing. I changed the boot order and it still bypasses the floppy. Cleared the CMOS, changed the RAM with a stick I know is good. Same results. This is weird because it worked fine this morning, then poof. It IS connected to the internet, but the only users on it are me and one other person. It rarely if ever visits a web site except for updates. It's a Compaq 800Mhz, 256 MB RAM. It is used only to connect to our AS 400. But without it, we are screwed if there is a problem with the 400. So, any ideas? Formatting is a problem. It NEEDS to be done and upped to XP, but we would need corporate approval and also other software that they don't allow us here to install. Fun huh?

Edit: We don't have a copy of Win2K here to do a repair install either. I have one of my own, but will it accept it since it would have a different CD key?
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 02:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Yea you have alot of problems

Usually here where I am, we just restore the workstation back to a good state using Ghost. As we already have the image and all necessary application install so a virus recovery make's it easier. Might just be hardware related to. Why would it be bypassing the floppy, unless the floppy is dead also or part of the motherboard.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 03:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

We aren't allowed to use Ghost. Sucks too because it would save me a lot of time.
I have been told that I can change the Plug-n-Play OS setting to "yes" and this may solve the problem. Haven't tried it yet though. As for bypassing the floppy, that is a strange one. The floppy drive has only been used twice since the PC was set up so I can't believe it would be bad. But it could. I guess my Memtest disk could be bad too.
And of course corporate has said there "isn't enough disposable capital for the purchase of a new PC at this time"
They can get new carpet though...
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 03:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

This machine doesn't have the option for the plug-n-play OS. Oh well. As long as it gets fixed by next Saturday...
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 02:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Format, install XP. Problem solved.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.