win 2k Pro OR win xp pro? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2004, 11:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Default win 2k Pro OR win xp pro?

I have been running win2k pro since it came out. I am getting upgrades to mobo, cpu, ram. Would it be better to keep win 2k or upgrade to win xp pro?

Please post why you think which one is best.

Thanks

ps. I searched to forum and could not find a comparision. Win 98 to XP but not win 2k to win xp.
__________________

turkey29 is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 02:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 232
Default

This might help....

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/p...eaturecomp.asp
__________________

cas0496 is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 12:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

I definitely recomment going with XP. As long as you keep it up to date with any patches, you should go for a LONG time without crashing.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 12:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

Widows 2k Pro is way more efficient and isn't full of fluff like xp.
__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 01:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

I love the stability of XP! I would recommend it.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 04:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to blake67t
Default

2000 Pro is a very good OS, however, XP is more than just the new thing, I work in the IT department at a life insrurance company, and work on computers with every OS from windows 95, to XP Pro.

2000 will work well for everything you want pretty well, but,

XP Pro makes everything so much easier to use, setup, use with any periphial, work with networks, and keep up to date and running great than 2000. In your case, I believe this depends on what hardware you are planning on running with the OS.

Everything from the stats of your MOBO, to your memory, and the CPU you are planning to upgrade to, will depend on how your system will run.

XP does not run differently because of "fluff," as mousepad so called it, XP can be tweak to hell if it is not running like you want it, you can disable countless resource-using settings that will stop the un-needed usage of resources.

Are you planning on purchasing XP Pro if you decide on using it? Or do you already have it, or will be recieving it from a friend? It sounds like XP is for you, but post your stats on your motherboard, and the memory you are planning to upgrade to, and the CPU you want to use, post what you have now, and what you will have after the upgrade, that info may help with your decision, based on what people think on here.

Hope this helps,

Blake
__________________
It\'s good to be bad, if it\'s better than bored.

Straight Forward.com GO RIGHT TO THE BEST, no searching.
http://straightforward.bravehost.com/
blake67t is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 08:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

I have recently stepped back to Windows 2000 for liencing reasons. And there is some things that i am missing with Windows Xp.
- Active Restore, really useful. Especially when you have some annoying spy-ware or some other program that I regretted downloading off the internet.

- Remote Desktop - No avalable in Xp. (Or Not that I can find it). I find this tool really useful so I can log into work from home.


I do recommend Xp Pro over Xp Home if you are moving from one network to another. I have eXperienced Problems with XP Home where it will not let you join another network.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 09:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to blake67t
Default XP REMOTE

XP home and pro both have remote desktop, it is very simple and easy to use, lol.

Did you look in the control panel?

Right click my computer, and click on "REMOTE" tab, there is your remote desktop, it works well for XP, I use it at work all the time, goimg from different OS's, it's still very easy.

Blake
__________________
It\'s good to be bad, if it\'s better than bored.

Straight Forward.com GO RIGHT TO THE BEST, no searching.
http://straightforward.bravehost.com/
blake67t is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 09:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: XP REMOTE

Quote:
Originally posted by blake67t
XP home and pro both have remote desktop, it is very simple and easy to use, lol.

Did you look in the control panel?
I'm not using XP currently on my beasties at home.
And I am normally playing around with XP Pro Boxes where is in the START --> PROGRAMS --> Assorisies --> Communication
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.