will this work?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 09:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default will this work??

i was wondering if i could use my windows xp home reinstallation cd that came with my dell on another computer i built. i was thinking maybe it would work by using another cd key but it says on the cd that it only works with dells. is this true? is there any ways i could bypass it?
__________________

will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 09:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

there's three different groups of license that i can think of reseller (Compaq/HP, dell, sony), volume license (corporate), and personsal (home).

only way to get around it is to find a key that matches the cd.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 09:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

But if i do find a key that is for the dell cd. Will it work on my non dell computer?
thnks for ur reply
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 09:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by will h4x 4 food
But if i do find a key that is for the dell cd. Will it work on my non dell computer?
thnks for ur reply
all depends...because with most pre-built computers...the xp cd is normally just an image of your computer and it wont work on other computers..
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 09:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Avalanch3
all depends...because with most pre-built computers...the xp cd is normally just an image of your computer and it wont work on other computers..
the comp im gonna attempt to do it on is 1 i made myself
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

yea...but the XP cd..it come with your dell correct ??
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

yes correct... so i guess i will have to just buy the **** thing
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

maybe...on the cd that come with the dell...does it have "for distrubution with a new pc only" written on it somewhere ?
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

it says "for distribution with a new dell computer"
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

ok well it wont work on the pc that you built...you will have to go buy a full version
__________________

__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.