Will my primary drive still be recognized? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2005, 07:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 31
Default Will my primary drive still be recognized?

Hi People,

My XP installation has been corrupted and I can't reinstall or repair due to BSODs. But I can boot into DOS and still see all my files. I'm thinking of buying a new hard drive, installing WinXP on that drive as the primary drive, and hooking up my current drive as the secondary. My question is: will my current drive be recognized if I do this?

Cheers,

Kyoto
__________________

Kyoto512 is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 07:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Yes it will be recognized by the other drive. You can then get your information off the drive and format it then transfer the infor back to get rid of the Windows information that you wont need on there.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 02:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Yep you should be fine unless that drive is dying and is whats causing the BSOD's. Once you get up and running on the new drive though I would move the data over off the old drive asap.

Also note if you had your XP profiles password protected you will get an "access denied" error when trying to access the files, which you must take ownership of on your new OS/HD. If thats the case let us know and we can show you how to do that.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 06:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 31
Default

Thanks guys,

I don't think it's the hard drive that's the problem. Anyway, I think I'll go out and get that new hard drive. Is it possible to run the secondary drive as a mirror drive to the primary? I've decided that that's how I'd like to back up from now on.

Cheers,

Kyoto
Kyoto512 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.