Wierd Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2005, 04:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default Wierd Question

Does anyone know of a program or simple scenario that can cause the End Now Message Box to pop up? I'm not looking for one to hang when you are shutting down but rather one that if you try and close it, windows will ask you to End it Now because it has stopped responding.

If you don't know of anything DON'T POST saying "there isn't any way to do it."

Any suggestions would be great...o yeah one more thing is that if you give me a program to try, it must be able to be run without being installed and preferably relatively small in size. Another idea is to give me some code either in VB or C++ (or even AutoIt) that can cause the program to stop responding. I know most people try to get rid of this problem and I'm trying to create it...lol thats life.

I'm just looking for something to test a program that I have been working on and I need some solid way to test it. Thanks for your help in advance.

-Aaron
__________________

__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 04:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Check to make sure its not in your startup list like in MSCONFIG. If its running in there and it gives you that message when you shut it down, disable it, reboot, start the program back up, wait a few minutes, then try to shut it down again. See if that makes a difference.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 04:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

sorry i must not have been clear about what i want...

I want a script, program, or scenario that i can make the End Now pop up. I'm not trying to get rid of it. I want it to happen.

I want to have a way to test a program that I am working on.
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.