Why Vista is such a failure... - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2008, 12:09 AM   #61 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Why Vista is such a failure...

ultimate 32 bit of course!

is going to 64 bit worth it.. i've got 4 gigs of ram, but don't feel i need it
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 12:30 AM   #62 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default Re: Why Vista is such a failure...

I got a problem with playing bf2 with vista i was wondering if you vista users could help me with, whenever i try to join a server in bf2 i get kicked by punkbuster saying i dont have sufficient os privlages, how do i fix this


(oh and im the one and only admin)
__________________

backup287 is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 06:47 AM   #63 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default Re: Why Vista is such a failure...

Try updating your Punkbuster
__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:12 AM   #64 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Why Vista is such a failure...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalOwns View Post
Yeah that's how you do it. This won't work on Vista Basic though. But I'm guessing you have a better version.
No that is for Business up to Ultimate. For Home Basic you use these steps...

For Windows Vista Home Basic/Home Premium:

1- Click Start, and type "cmd" in the search area, right click on "Command Prompt" and select 'Run as Administrator".

2- In the command prompt type "net users Administrator /active'" (Note the capital "A" in Administrator) and press Enter, you will get a confirmation as "The command completed successfully".

3- Click Start, and type "regedit" in the search area and click Enter, navigate to: [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Policies\System]
Double click on "FilterAdministratorToken" and set it to "0"

Full steps for every version check out the Vista thread.

Windows Vista Discussion

While you are there see my Vista Score:

ImageShack - Hosting :: indexscorecn5.jpg

:laughing:
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 02:54 PM   #65 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: Why Vista is such a failure...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
So please people stop expressing your opinions as fact. Because we have plenty of users here that can run Vista just fine. We have several more that are changing their mond on Vista after actually running it for more than 5 minutes. If this continues i will close this thread as it is getting out of hand and becoming pointless to leave it open for arguements to continue.
Wow! Where have I been? When did you become a moderator, Mak?
forrestcupp is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 02:57 PM   #66 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Why Vista is such a failure...

Quote:
Originally Posted by forrestcupp View Post
Wow! Where have I been? When did you become a moderator, Mak?
Like a few days ago...
Ste is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 04:01 PM   #67 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Why Vista is such a failure...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
No that is for Business up to Ultimate. For Home Basic you use these steps...

For Windows Vista Home Basic/Home Premium:

1- Click Start, and type "cmd" in the search area, right click on "Command Prompt" and select 'Run as Administrator".

2- In the command prompt type "net users Administrator /active'" (Note the capital "A" in Administrator) and press Enter, you will get a confirmation as "The command completed successfully".

3- Click Start, and type "regedit" in the search area and click Enter, navigate to: [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Policies\System]
Double click on "FilterAdministratorToken" and set it to "0"

Full steps for every version check out the Vista thread.

Windows Vista Discussion

While you are there see my Vista Score:

ImageShack - Hosting :: indexscorecn5.jpg

:laughing:
Ah, the net user command. I had never thought about using that to enable the account. Your right too...does not work for premium. I just dug out the instructions I had printed off. It says for Ultimate/Business/Enterprise. My bad.

Nice job manually editing your Vista scores BTW.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 05:15 PM   #68 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Why Vista is such a failure...

Thanks.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 10:31 PM   #69 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Why Vista is such a failure...

Vista still isnt ready to be used. Like every OS from Micro$oft give it another year or so and some more updates then it will be good.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xp and vista solidsteve Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-05-2008 08:35 PM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.