Why is my RAM letting the Paging file do all the work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2008, 08:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 128
Default Why is my RAM letting the Paging file do all the work?

I started using a new computer with 4gb of RAM recently. I thought it ought to be very good with multi-tasking.

But, I can't say I've noticed much of a difference compared with my old 1gb computer.

Occasionally I've looked at the task manager, to see how exactly the RAM is performing.
But it always seems, that the RAM is letting the Paging File do the work.

I took a screenshot of the task manager just now.

[img]http://img501.imageshack.us/img501/8657/****tyramik3.jpg[/img]

You can see it's using 1.59 GB of the paging file, as opposed to the RAM. Of which there appears to be plenty free.

I'm just wondering what the heck is going on, It's really bugging me that my 4 gigs of ram is doing no more than 1.
__________________

Death Row is offline  
Old 05-25-2008, 08:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Why is my RAM letting the Paging file do all the work?

Turn your page file off. Then it will use all your RAM.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-25-2008, 11:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 128
Default Re: Why is my RAM letting the Paging file do all the work?

OK I just did that, I guess I'll have to leave it a while before I see any drastic effects.

I always thought a paging file was 'absolutley' necessary.
Cheers for the help,
Death Row is offline  
Old 05-25-2008, 12:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Why is my RAM letting the Paging file do all the work?

You will have to restart the machine.

The Pagefile is recommended to use. It acts like RAM on your hard drive. It is used over RAM so that the RAM is free to do other tasks.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
Possible Corrupted/Infected Files. xXxexpertxXx Viruses, Spyware and Malware 11 03-12-2008 01:18 AM
Paging file ohGrFreak Microsoft Windows and Software 3 03-03-2008 03:54 PM
Spyware problem. Please help. someguy0 HijackThis Logs (finished) 7 03-03-2008 01:27 PM
How to fix broken file associations Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 09-22-2007 01:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.