why does window's robb you of hard drive space? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2005, 11:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default why does window's robb you of hard drive space?

well...i'm not sure if it's window's...tha's why i'm askin'...

but i've noticed that if you buy a say a 15 gig hd...window's only says you have like 14gig
every single hd iv'e ever had never says what it's listed at in window's...like...i've got a 120 gig now but window's only says it's 111gig....does window's rob you or does the hd manufacturer?
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 11:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Page File Space
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 11:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

heh...expand?? i'm slow
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 11:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Windows robs you not only of hard drive space. They also rob you of your CPU, memory, and your money

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 11:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MichaelStanding
Windows? what are you doing running such a low spec program on your machine? I can send you a copy of dos if you want but you will have to register it, cause im not into illegal activities. You'll find your tracking system will run alot more smoother.
WOW, what are you smoking!? The guy's got an AMD Athlon 2800+!!! I think he'll be able to run Windows ANYTHING on that! HAHA

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 11:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
btv
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 120
Default Re: why does window's robb you of hard drive space?

Quote:
Originally posted by CntdwnToExtn
well...i'm not sure if it's window's...tha's why i'm askin'...

but i've noticed that if you buy a say a 15 gig hd...window's only says you have like 14gig
every single hd iv'e ever had never says what it's listed at in window's...like...i've got a 120 gig now but window's only says it's 111gig....does window's rob you or does the hd manufacturer?
it's because that there is 1,073,741,824 bytes in a gigabyte.
that hard drive is realy 15,000,000,000 bytes,not 15 gigabytes.
its a misleading of hard drive makers.
btv is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 11:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default Re: Re: why does window's robb you of hard drive space?

Quote:
Originally posted by btv
it's because that there is 1,073,741,824 bytes in a gigabyte.
that hard drive is realy 15,000,000,000 bytes,not 15 gigabytes.
its a misleading of hard drive makers.
Yes, but it's not really that big of a deal. I mean, I've got an 80GB Maxtor HDD and it really is only 74GB but I mean it's only a 6GB loss, not too bad.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 11:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default Re: Re: why does window's robb you of hard drive space?

Quote:
Originally posted by btv
it's because that there is 1,073,741,824 bytes in a gigabyte.
that hard drive is realy 15,000,000,000 bytes,not 15 gigabytes.
its a misleading of hard drive makers.
ohhh, i see so clearly now.
heh, sue for false advertising?? haha j/j

like dan the man said...not that big of a deal...it's still a piss off though thinkin' your gettin' that much and bam...9 gig is knocked off right off the bat.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 01:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Major can explain it the best.

they are not false advertising

1 gig is equal to something like 1024 mb
EricB is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 01:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 324
Default

Welcome to the wonderful world of slack space. The issue is a numerical "faux pas". What happens is that your hard drive is measured in base-10 numerals, where 1gb=1000mb, 1mb=1000kb, and so on. This means that 15gb= 1,500,000,000 bytes.
In actuality, the drive should be measured in base-1024 numerals, where 1gb=1024mb, 1mb=1024kb and so on. This would mean that your 15gb drive = 1,572,864,000 bytes.
But as you have seen, this is not the case. Your drive is approximately 15gb give or take a few mb's. You have "lost" some space simply because of a discrepancy between the marketing world and the real world. Also, you lose some space on the drive when you format.
Base-10 numbering is a holdover from the old days when it was easier to just label a 1gb drive as a "1gb drive". After all, the consumer only "lost" 48mb in the process.
That's not much when you think about it, right? But when you add up all those 48mb chunks across an "15gb" drive, you get 720mb of actual space that has been "lost".
it is a little confusing to some, but just remember that a drive rated in the base-10 scale will always be smaller than the advertised specs.
__________________

sunsider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.