Why does my laptop randomly dial the internet? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2005, 05:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
purveyor of fine cheeses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 323
Question Why does my laptop randomly dial the internet?

Everytime I turn on my laptop it starts to dial up to the internet. Is there a programme out there or something that I can do to establish what software is causing this, etc? It gets really annoying when I am busy playing a game and everything minimises so that Windows can tell me it is dialling or that the dialing has failed.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v208/knowledgelifeguard/homer21.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\" width=\"125\" height=\"104.8\"> <font size=\"1\"><i>\"I like these real Saturdays, not like that fake one that almost got me fired.\"</font></i>
SupremeRuler99 is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 06:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 50
Default

try checking the connections window and delete any connections that are not your own. try doing a spyware/adware check aswell. and did you or anyone else that uses the laptop surf to any +18 sites and download/install anything?
__________________

foxhound is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 07:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

to stop it dialing at start up go run and type in "msconfig" with out the " and go to the last box thing, and look for it. Don't un tick anything that you don't know what it is.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 08:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16
Send a message via ICQ to demank Send a message via Yahoo to demank
Default

yes.., i have experienced the same problem. to fix that problem, scan with antivirus or antispyware program.., it cause your laptop is entering 18+ site before, so activeX trojan enter your laptop..
demank is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 08:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

You've got Porn.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 09:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16
Send a message via ICQ to demank Send a message via Yahoo to demank
Default

porn site iss dangerous for your PC health
demank is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 11:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

go do your dial properites....i forget how to get there..been so long....but in there you can chose never dial a connection, always dial, prompt before dial....click never dial.
or, you've got one of those porn dialers....check your phone bill when it comes in...use a anit virus or something
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 11:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by demank
porn site iss dangerous for your PC health
meh, just don't download any porn....stream it if your watchin' vid's and don't save pictures...then run spybot and ad aware after to get rid of the cookies/spyware/adware that get's by your firewall and stuff...
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 11:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Tools>>internet options>>connections
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 01:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 122
Default

What this really sounds like, is a program is trying to access interweb resources at boot. (Like everyone else said) YOU HAVE PORN!!! It may even be that you have a program that was downloading resources, like an anti virus program, and it hasn't finished or is configured to download updates at system startup. Not a big prob. Just reconfigure your internet connections, and access msconfig, look for something like update, or access, etc... you should be able to find it without fail. If this doesn't work though, get a stable anti-spyware program and kill the problem yourself...
__________________

__________________
Quote:
In the eyes of Bill Gates, the open source world seems un-activated...
geffin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.