Why does iTunes load on startup? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2007, 10:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Why does iTunes load on startup?

I went to msconfig and I unchecked the iTunes startup. How do I make sure iTUnes doesn't start up again?
__________________

akasixcon is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 10:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Why does iTunes load on startup?

It won't unless you upgrade it, then it will put itself back on the startup list. Gotta love apps that want to make themselves number one, eh?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 01:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Why does iTunes load on startup?

apple's "legit" spyware, lol. Another example to many what can be considered legit and be spyware all depending on the branding and purpose.

BUT, aside from that, if you have something like spybot s/d installed, just go to tools and disallow it from starting up.

my sister bought an hp laptop and it had itunes and other apple bloat on it, asked her if she used it...answer was no, so I uninstalled all that junk. It's one thing to have bloatware loaded on your computer, and another when that bloat loads itself and stays active even when you don't use it and have no intention of doing so.
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 03:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Why does iTunes load on startup?

Start>Run>msconfig>startup tab. Uncheck iTunes.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Secrets & Features of iTunes 7.4 Osiris Apple and Mac 2 09-12-2007 11:51 AM
Simple Hackery Enables Free iTunes Ringtones Osiris Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 0 09-07-2007 01:22 PM
Can't load XP pro with Core 2 duo e6750(2) mtslegacy Microsoft Windows and Software 5 08-14-2007 09:48 AM
iTunes Now Offering DRM-Free Music Tracks for $1.29 maroon1 Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 05-30-2007 01:49 PM
Apple Releases iTunes 7.2 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 05-30-2007 10:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.