Why does HP laptop have problems booting to Windows - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2006, 05:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default Why does HP laptop have problems booting to Windows

Good day,

(Please excuse me if this is the wrong forumn, I think it is) I have an HP Pavilion ZV6000 laptop (AMD 64 3200+ 2.0 GHz, 80 gb Hdd, 8x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW drive, 128MB ATI Xpress 200m video dedicated memory). My Laptop has been having on & off problems booting to Windows, Some days it will boot to windows other days it won’t. The days it won’t I have to go thru the procedures listed below:

When I turn on my laptop it boots to the HP invent logo/intro & then that’s it, it doesn’t proceed to windows. Below in the left hand corner are a few instructions such as:
Press <Esc> to change boot order
Press <F10> to enter Setup, <F12> to boot from LAN

I tried alt+ctrl+delete but that doesn’t seem to work to well, I "CAN" get it to boot to windows, if I physically push the power button & turn the laptop on & off., and usually after about the 15th time it will boot to Windows XP (This is extremely irritating). I’ve also noticed that if I leave the original Windows XP install disk in the drive, that it will boot to window more often. (although even with the disk inside there’s times it doesn’t boot to windows).

Does this mean the hard drive is broken or beginning to break, or could it be a corruption in the operating system. Is there some online tool that would test my laptop to see if it’s the Win XP OS system. To view a more in-depth description & view screen shots of my problem I’ve posted them at: http://testing.100webcustomers.com/

Any help or suggestion would be appreciated. Thank you
__________________

rhino1616 is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 05:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

is yout bios set to boot from the hard drive first? how old is the xp install?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 02:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default

The Win xp install is the original install from when I bought it, & yes i do believe its set to boot from hardrive
rhino1616 is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 07:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

and when did you buy it?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.