Why can't I turn High Contrast off?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2004, 11:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 425
Default Why can't I turn High Contrast off?!

About a week ago, I was lookin around in the control panel, and came across an option for high contrast, so I just wanted to try it out and said apply. I really hated it, so I unchecked it and did apply again and it stayed the same!!! I have been living with this stupid high contrast for a week or so and it is really beginning to piss me off. Any suggestions? I have WinXP.
__________________

__________________
AMD>INTEL
ATI>NVIDIA

C++
JAVA
JAVASCRIPT
PERL
REEF
LISP
PYTHON

good at Java, mastered Java Script, learning C++ some more, and have not done alot with the others.
winblowz is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 04:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Yep. Seen this before.

What you got is an application-boosted problem. This usually comes from using a program (especially games) where the screen is brightened (or darkened, or whatever) when you're using it. Some programs that do this are UnrealEd, Half-Life, UT2k3, some versions of AutoCAD and 3DSM, and especially MOH.

If when using the program you somehow cause it to crash or close prematurely, you can run into this error. Even a reboot will sometimes not fix the "stuck" view alterations. One way to fix this is to run that application again (if it's a game, actually run and play the game) and then carefully close the program down through its menus (not by a console command or the X-kill). Often, a hard-boot will fix this problem too.

Mid case scenario: you reinstall your drivers for yer vid card.

Your problem is a little different, what with the video setting, but I suspect this is no different. It is likely you set the high-contrast, ran some game that made it "stuck" and now can't change it back.

Worst case scenario: Contact your g-card manufacturer about the issue and see what they say (check their site too).
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 04:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 425
Default

So how would I reinstall my vid card (NVidia GeForce FX 5200) drivers? Would that help? I dont think it's that game thing, cuz the thing was stuck before i opened any game.
__________________
AMD>INTEL
ATI>NVIDIA

C++
JAVA
JAVASCRIPT
PERL
REEF
LISP
PYTHON

good at Java, mastered Java Script, learning C++ some more, and have not done alot with the others.
winblowz is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 11:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Go download the latest drivers for your card and install them.

It might.

It is possible that after you set the high-contrast, an application you used after made it stuck. I'm not saying this IS your problem, but I have had loads of experiences with this happening by application/game's hand.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.