Why Can't I download a file over 4 gigs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2005, 07:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10
Default Why Can't I download a file over 4 gigs

Hi Every Body
I have downloaded a file which is about 4.15 gigabytes long, and every time the file download gets to 4 gigs it says that the disk is full, I have been to several new sources with the same message every time it just gets past 4 gigs. I have plenty of room on the hard drive, I've cleaned and defragged the H?D many times.
The people which I download from have the full 4.15 gigs, so why can't I get it? need to to resolve this Pals

E-mail pauladams@blueyonder.co.uk
__________________

pals08609 is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 07:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

In most cases, your browser simply can't handle it.
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 07:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

hmmm... FAT32? If so, there's your reason.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 08:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10
Default

my browser is IE 6 and my file system is fats32 if either of these are the problem how can I resolve this please pals
pals08609 is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 08:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you need to convert it to ntfs instead of fat32 (4 gig limit). try partition magic

there a dos command line that let you do it, but I tried it that way over 3 year ago, and I did something wrong and it erase all of my data.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 08:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10
Default

I'll try that but I think in the past I've downloaded files larger that that I think, but as I say I'll thy that thanks Pals
pals08609 is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 08:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Hrm, I don't think you've downloaded a file > 4gb, because fat32 won't allow you to have a file larger than 4 gb.

-SkyHi
SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 08:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks your probably right I must be mistaken.
The link you posted for the Powermax cd iso boot, I click on it ans a blank page appears Thanks pals
pals08609 is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 08:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

well, to just convert the c: drive the command is:

c:\>convert c: /fs:ntfs <ENTER>

it will then convert the fat32 to ntfs. Do this at your own expense AND back up any important files (I've done this before without problems BUT it is possible to have issues doing this)! Do this at the command prompt. Reboot. If it takes awhile to reboot let it FINISH! Do NOT turn it off and back on after the first initial reboot unless sure it is a failure. I've seen to many people get worried and shut it off after only a few minutes of the first initial reboot.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 09:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pals08609
Thanks your probably right I must be mistaken.
The link you posted for the Powermax cd iso boot, I click on it ans a blank page appears Thanks pals
I just click it. it worked fine. it does take awhile for the download box to show up, however. And I'm using road runner. so it might just take awhile
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.