Why can I rarely stop processes? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2006, 07:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default Why can I rarely stop processes?

Running windows XP. Windows Task Manager - Processes Tab

Why can I only end a process about 25% of the time?

The rest of the time nothing happens or the standard not responding window keeps coming up. Oftentimes I am stuck manually reseting my computer (that's no good). An other way to stop a program or process?
__________________

Sinister is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 07:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

What process are you trying to stop?is it a system process or like an application process?
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 09:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Sorry for not saying this already but I am talking about applications.

Just seems to my half computer literate mind that ending the process should actually end it at least 95% of the time! Is it always this way? Is there something I can do differently?
Sinister is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 10:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sinister
Sorry for not saying this already but I am talking about applications.

Just seems to my half computer literate mind that ending the process should actually end it at least 95% of the time! Is it always this way? Is there something I can do differently?
MSCONFIG/STARTUP/UNCHECK THE BOX/APPLY
derrmc is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 12:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

do you receive an error message or anything telling you that you cant do that?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.