why can i not have one partition - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2008, 04:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 51
Default why can i not have one partition

trying to install xp pro on to a new wd500 harddrive. when the pc boots from the cd and looks at the drive it can only see 127.99g so i installed xp and then it lets me format the other 340g (give or take a few g's). which is no good as i dont want the drive split. is there any way to install on to the drive to give me the 500g partition.

thanks
__________________

pspec is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: why can i not have one partition

You need to update your XP Disc to include SP2. Before that drives were limted to the size you mention.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 06:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: why can i not have one partition

I think you can also use gparted? to make it into one big partition after the fact. Having a smallish 30-50gb partition for the OS is usually a good idea anyway. It keeps you from having to backup all of your data if you want to do a clean install of the OS.

FYI
Slipstreaming Windows XP Service Pack 2 and Create Bootable CD - HelpWithWindows.com
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 06:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: why can i not have one partition

autostreamer makes it simple
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 07:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 51
Default Re: why can i not have one partition

ok will give it ago
thank
pspec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Going Back To Vista - Advice on Removing XP Partition SpikedCola Microsoft Windows and Software 11 01-21-2008 06:41 PM
dual-boot partition setup darkop16 Linux and Open Source 28 12-30-2007 07:40 PM
Vista Hard Drive Partition Problems falchion Microsoft Windows and Software 2 10-21-2007 01:06 AM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
Making Partition yamtien Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 03-29-2007 05:52 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.