when trying to load Xp from disk... it won't! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2004, 11:59 AM   #21 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

matters not. The shipsets are part of the Mobo drivers. There are times when yes, you do need to update them, but the system will still beable to load up on it. The advanced parts are where the OS will have trouble at first, but it will see it even if it's a totally new chipset.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 12:45 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 45
Default

Yeah if I try to boot up as normal it freezes at 'verifying DMI pool data'... and someone suggested that I try booting from the Xp disc... which caused all the problems I've talked about..
The BIOS recognizes all my hardware.. and the memtest passed everything. Is it possible that the age of the hard drive could have something to do with it? But I only bought it three years ago and the newer one was less than a year ago.
__________________

__________________
If I can get away with not doing it then I won\'t do it.. If I can\'t get away with it I still won\'t do it but then I\'ll have a right moan about it.
dafydd_brown is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 12:52 PM   #23 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I don't think age matters. my drives are older and I neve had problems.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 02:32 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

boot into safemode. Then go thought the device manager and uninstall the system devices. Uninstall them all, and the reboot. This should force discovery to run.
that should help...
Inaris is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 04:30 PM   #25 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

The chipset matters if the chipset is controlling your IDE chain (which in most cases it does). Depending on your chipset, and your mobo-manufacturer's recommendations, you may need to install seperate chipset drivers, aside from your mobo drivers.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 09:08 AM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 45
Default

Well I took the second hard disk out and upon starting up and booting from the Xp disc it took me through the whole process as before but deleted the old copy of windows I had and installed the new one. Then it rebooted but now it keeps saying 'error loaing operating system' and when I try and boot from the cd again it gives me the blue screen error with 'windows has shutdown to prevent damage to your computer'...
So if I try to boot from the hard drive it won't work and if I try to boot from the Xp cd it won't work either...
__________________
If I can get away with not doing it then I won\'t do it.. If I can\'t get away with it I still won\'t do it but then I\'ll have a right moan about it.
dafydd_brown is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 10:03 AM   #27 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Check your BIOS. After you yanked that drive out, are the BIOS still looking at the right HDD?

What kind of drives are these?
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 04:39 PM   #28 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 45
Default

Right! I've finally manage to get the damn thing working... Don't ask me what I did though... it was a mixture of stubborness and luck i guess... Now I've just got to figure out how to work around having a dodgy copy of Xp... I had a legit one once! but oh-no I couldn't keep it when i changed the hard ware...
Thanks for all your help! This forum really is a gold mine!
__________________

__________________
If I can get away with not doing it then I won\'t do it.. If I can\'t get away with it I still won\'t do it but then I\'ll have a right moan about it.
dafydd_brown is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.