when trying to load Xp from disk... it won't! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2004, 03:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 45
Default when trying to load Xp from disk... it won't!

Upgraded the motherboard, processor and RAM in my computer but kept my old hard disks and cd drives...
After changing the boot setting to check cd-rom drive on start up it goes through it's buisness and then the cd-rom drive kicks into action but the screen stays with 'press any key to boot from cd' or whatever it is... and it just stay like that...
Now I've tried the cd in another computer and it helpfully auto-runs asking if I want to install windows Xp... and it would seem that there's nothing wrong with the cd-rom drive because I can hear it going...
But then what do I know... well nothing really!
Thanks for any help!
__________________

__________________
If I can get away with not doing it then I won\'t do it.. If I can\'t get away with it I still won\'t do it but then I\'ll have a right moan about it.
dafydd_brown is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 03:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

having a new mobo, unfortunetly you'll probably have to boot from a set of floppies. I think XP has 6, dunno, I use win2k.
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 03:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Have u tried pressing the "ANY" key?

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 04:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 45
Default

Lol, you know every time i went through the whole process and it said 'press any key' that's exactly what went through my mind... in Homer's voice "Which one's the any key?"
I think I've got maybe one floppy disk that hasn't gone screwy... and there's me having a conversation about how they're pretty much obsolete merely hours before all of this!
__________________
If I can get away with not doing it then I won\'t do it.. If I can\'t get away with it I still won\'t do it but then I\'ll have a right moan about it.
dafydd_brown is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 04:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

The disc should work. try another cd-rom drive.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 01:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
The disc should work. try another cd-rom drive.
I agree
derrmc is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 07:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 45
Default

Okay... now the disk seems to want to work but when it starts to load windows I get an error message telling me that the start up was aborted to prevent damage to my computer and that I should try checking my hard drives to see if there are any viruses or errors... Is that possible? They were fine two days ago before i removed the old motherboard and processor...
I don't know if this sounds daft at all but I've read a few posts about inadequate PSUs and people having trouble booting up because of them...
The one I've got is 230V and I'm trying to run two cd-rom drives, two hard drives, a floppy disk drive, a giga-byte K8ns Pro mobo and a Amd Athlon64 3200+ processor...
__________________
If I can get away with not doing it then I won\'t do it.. If I can\'t get away with it I still won\'t do it but then I\'ll have a right moan about it.
dafydd_brown is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 07:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Are your drives formatted?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 07:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 45
Default

no... you mean since i disconnected the old hardware? i was hoping that i could keep the stuff that i've got on at least one of the drives... is that possible? I've got about sixty gigabytes of stuff on the one drive that i'd really rather not lose.. (I'll use the other one for Xp)
__________________
If I can get away with not doing it then I won\'t do it.. If I can\'t get away with it I still won\'t do it but then I\'ll have a right moan about it.
dafydd_brown is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 08:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

you can...it should work normally, but maybe setup has problems with the XP partition...maybe u should format the XP partition...maybe...maybe, not sure...you can try it

also, take out all unnecesary parts (un-used PCI cards)
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.