When installing pre-XP game, "Could not set up registry entries." - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2007, 05:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14
Default When installing pre-XP game, "Could not set up registry entries."

Hello, new here. I wanted to play an older game (Rollercoaster tycoon) on XP, but when I try to install it, the error messages reads: "Could not set up registry entries." Does anyone know how to fix this problem?

Thank you

shoenberg3 is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 06:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861

get a version of Rollercoaster tycoon that work on xp(there are lots of them). or right click the setup.exe or cd and select properties. look for compatibility mode

The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 04:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
forrestcupp's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 691

If it's a dos game, try DOSBox. It emulates dos pretty well. If not, you'll have to try the compatibility mode. If that doesn't work, you're out of luck. I had to toss 11th Hour because it didn't work with XP.
forrestcupp is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 05:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14

Thanks for your replies. I know few people who got this game to work with XP.
Instead, I think there is something wrong with my registry. When I download registry mechanic, it says some core files are missing. When I run Ashampoo WinOptimizer, it is able to find orphaned registry files but not delete it. Plus, the original problem of the error message, "Could not set up registry entries"....
shoenberg3 is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 06:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Bulldog
zmatt's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660

could be, but one time when i ran reg cleaner my Civ4 shortcut would launch halo. even tho it was targeted at Civ4.exe lol.

<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.