what are they? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2006, 06:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 127
Default what are they?

on the bios under one of the tabs, what i a primary/secondary IDE slave and IDE master? thanks!
__________________

Liam amd.64 is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 07:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Default

Those are your jumper settings, you put that little thing on the one you want the drive to be... if you want it to slave put it on slave...
__________________

EndofSanity is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 07:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Those are referring to IDE channels. Most motherboards will have a primary and a secondary IDE channel. On each channel there is a means to connect up to two IDE devices. If you have two devices on one channel, one will have to be a master and the other a slave.

FYI, IDE devices usually include Hard Drives and CD/DVD Drives.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 02:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 127
Default

should they all have something on each one?? what does IDE stand for? thanks for the help!
Liam amd.64 is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 05:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Integrated Drive Electronics. it means the drives have their own controllers.
people often mention motherboards having IDE controllers. in reality, motherboards don't have IDE controllers. they just have ports to communicate with the drives. the drives have their own controllers.

I suppose IDE ports having 2 devices per channel is just a means for saving space on the motherboard
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.