What is SP2? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2004, 10:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default What is SP2?

I am hearing ppl talk about SP2? What is this? I assume that it is a new OS, b/c I was told instead of upgrading to XP, wait for SP2. Whats the deal?

Matt
__________________

__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 10:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

Service Pack 2 isnt a new OS, it is basically updates on your current OS. It fixes security issues and has updates for the latest technology.
__________________

ADZ is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 12:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

The SP2 (Service Pack 2) you were told to wait for is, in fact, FOR Windows XP. It fixes plenty of bugs, incompatabilities, security issues, etc. You were told to wait because when SP2 comes out, you can then install XP and update with SP2 immediately rather than having to wait. The result is a more stable and secure Windows XP.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 01:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

Ahhh....thanks to all that replied.
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 01:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 31
Default

Sorry to confuse you! If you want to get XP now, go for it, you'll be able to download SP2 when it comes out. If you don't have a high speed connection, you might want to wait though, because it'll be around 100mb
mramige is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 01:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

I can get XP from my college for $10 (WinXP Pro) but I will have to wait till school starts. There, they have a T3 line, so I should be cool!
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 03:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mramige
Sorry to confuse you! If you want to get XP now, go for it, you'll be able to download SP2 when it comes out.
..... nevermind... found the answer to my own question.
__________________

Lone Wolf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.