What OS to get? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 09-06-2004, 02:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Question What OS to get?

I'm in College now so i'm thinking about getting a laptop. I am a CG artist and currently learning game programming. I use two programs frequently such as RPG Maker 2003 and Gamemaker 5. I am seriously thinking about switching to OS X because Mac's are generally really good for the digital graphics area (Photoshop, Painter, Flash, etc). I have no idea what I want, Windows Hyperthreading or Mac's G4 Powerbook...and I read the circular's every Sunday and PC's just seem to be cheap...especially Desktops.

The main reason i'm a little apprehensive about switching to Mac is because of compatibility issues only. Money is not an issue. I have absolutely nothing against the Mac, in fact I love it! It just looks so COOL...very nice looking displays and their towers and monitors and the GUI ^_^ (cries). Yes the GUI!...LOVE the Aqua. I heard that you can mimic the Aqua look for your Windows but eh. Anyway, any opinions on what I should get for a new laptop.
Thanks in advance!

Old 09-06-2004, 02:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera

I would get a nice Toshiba laptop with WindowsXP

Old 09-06-2004, 02:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie

WOW...that was fast!@_@, yea I like them...I read the circular's on Sundays and those seem to be good.
Old 09-06-2004, 02:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera

yeah..I am very very fast..always..LOL

I don't think you need anything special...I would get a good one with at leat 2.5GHz
Old 09-06-2004, 02:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie

well how about the Hyper-Threading Tech? I'm going to be using Photoshop, Painter, Flash a lot...not all at once of course lol...But I will using it for a lot of a lot Graphic Intensive tasks..so i'm thinking that I might need maybe a 3Ghz HT.