what is makemeinvisible.com?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2002, 02:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 157
Default what is makemeinvisible.com??

what is this site for??
__________________

sofraven is offline  
Old 11-16-2002, 03:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

That is whats called a proxy site.
It basically masks what you are browsing from outside viewers and from your internal network. So lets say you are at work, and surfing Pr0n or something, you go through that instead, and all the network guys see is that site, not the ones you are actually viewing.

Lets you get around corprate firewalls too.
__________________

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 11-16-2002, 03:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 157
Default

ok thanx bro, i havent been able to get into that site for 3 days, i have other ppl saying they are getting in no problem. i was able to but for some reason now i cant, i click on it and it says finding site. forever.... then the white page pops up saying the page cannot be displayed .... ive tryed everything dontknow what is wrong?
sofraven is offline  
Old 11-16-2002, 03:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

You can also try the one I use, megaproxy.com, does the same thing. And by the way, are you trying from work? If so, they may have figured out why people were using it and blocked the site.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 11-16-2002, 03:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 157
Default

no this is at home , but how can u block the site?
sofraven is offline  
Old 11-16-2002, 04:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Well if you were at work, they might have a firewall that was configured to not allow acccess to that site.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 11-16-2002, 04:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 157
Default

could my isp block me?? but why would they?
sofraven is offline  
Old 11-16-2002, 04:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Technically they could, because you might use it to surf illegal web sites. I would call them and ask if they are blocking any sites. Also ask them if they use a caching server, they may have some problems in that.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 11-16-2002, 04:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 157
Default

i was trying the site again and at the bottom of the screen where it says finding site makemeinvisible.com, it changed and said detecting proxy settings. then went back to finding site makemeinvisible and then i got the white page cannot display the page. so if it said detecting proxy settings , is it my isp or can i turn that off myself?
sofraven is offline  
Old 11-16-2002, 04:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

you can check to see if they are enabled, go to tools and internet options, then connection tab, then click on the LAN settings button, uncheck EVERYTHING in there. Then apply it, and close IE then re-open and try it.
__________________

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.