what the heck is xp sp2 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2004, 11:32 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to Slyzer Send a message via AIM to Slyzer

Originally posted by Quantum
As far as installing SP2, don't. Only rule.
I believe m$ is making it a mandatory updat now. I have been trying to get by this but havent found a way unless you stop doing updates.

Slyzer is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 01:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932

I've had XP-SP2 since it was released, on both work and home machines, and have encountered minor problems at worst.

A lot of people are screaming about SP2 being bad because they're just MS bashers and hate everything that MS puts out, good or bad.

So far I've half fallen in love with SP2's new security and blocking features for IE, and there have been some subtle file navigation issues that I've discovered and liked. The active desktop has become a little sluggish on my home machine, but that is because my home machine is OLD. Also, there's these new processes (inet*) that are okay...but one of them sucks up nearly 8 megs of RAM just to run, which blows. Soon as I find out what it's really doing and how much it'll effect the new features to have it "removed" I'll do so.

Other than that, SP2 has been pretty seamless.


Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 07:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 22

Thats weird because i dont have that processor in my list :/
ptiliffe is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 10:20 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 74

I've installed many SP2 by now on many different systems and sorry to say this but the real problem lies betwen the monitor and the keyboard. Talking of MS being pirates, I've herd a rumor that they want to release their own AV, and scan your system for "viruses" (serial numbers)!
CompTIA A+
CompTIA Net+
MCP 2000
BVR is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 02:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 153

MS's AV may be good. Since Xbox and WinXP, I believe they can put out quality products if thier engineers and programmers are allowed to do thier jobs. maybe MS will learn to let them do what they can do best.
COMPtia A+
COMPtia Network+
Quantum is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 02:25 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313

I've been using SP2 on my laptop since it was release. I haven't had any problems at all. And with the introduction of a built in pop up blocker for IE that works just as good as firefox or some third party software, I don't have to worry about whether I am going to be able to visit a site correctly or not.

You could say I've been around.
Shakie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.