What the heck is this?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2005, 01:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default What the heck is this??

My computer all of a sudden restarts. Once I get it back on and to the desktop, I open MSCONFIG and see that there is a program named
"dumprep 0 -k" running. What is this?
__________________

__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 01:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Could be a virus. Run your anti-virus lately?? If not, you better do that.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 02:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

right click my compter>>properties>>advanced>>startup and recovery settings>> turn off automatic restart.

When it blue screens, post the error
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 02:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

It's not a virus.
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 02:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

what exactly did I just do by turning off automatic restart?
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 02:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 617
Default

It's not a virus

Used in connection with memory dumps - you can disable these by - right clicking on My Computer, selecting Properties and then the Advanced tab. Click on the Settings button in 'Startup and Recovery'. In the bottom pane - under 'Write debugging information' - click on the down arrow and then select 'None' - OK your way out

Lobos
__________________
AdAware | Spybot S&D 1.4 | spyware guard & spyware blaster |

How did I get infected in the first place By Tony Klein

If you use IE I suggest using thes two programs IE Hosts & IE-SPYAD


Lobos is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 02:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

If there is a system failure it will reboot itself. By shutting it off, the next time there is a system failure it will not reboot. Instead you will get a blue screen with an error. With that error we can find out whats going on.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 05:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

that is the computer setting evrything it has in memory to a dump file for later use.
http://startup.iamnotageek.com/srch-...%200%20-u.html
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.