What do you think would be best? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2007, 07:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default What do you think would be best?

I have vista 64 as my main os. Would it be best to run a dual boot using xp pro or to make a virtual machine and add xp pro that way?
__________________

__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 08:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: What do you think would be best?

Depends on why you want to do it. Virtual machine is very good if you are going to be doing lots of testing on the system.
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 09:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: What do you think would be best?

Virtual machines are not an option if you want to do anything with DirectX. If you want to game or do anything 3D, you have to dual boot.

The best thing virtual machines are good for is if you are a programmer and you want to compile software for multiple platforms.

If all you are going to do is run Office or Nero or something, you might be alright with a vm. But then again, you can do most things like that in Vista anyway.
forrestcupp is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 10:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Re: What do you think would be best?

I would probably be doing some video editing because there is not a lot out there yet for 64 bit vista. Also if something doesn't quite work right I want to be able to get basic internet etc.
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 12:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: What do you think would be best?

If you're doing video editing, I would dual boot. While virtual machines may appear fast, when it comes to something as intensive as rendering a video, it will be much slower. Also, vm's don't directly interface with your hardware. They use "virtual hardware" that interfaces with whatever hardware you have. If you have an nvidia video card, it won't show up as an nvidia card; it will show up as whatever crappy card they use for their virtual video card. Because of this, firewire may be hard to get working well, too.

Just dual boot. It's a pain to reboot into another OS, but you know you won't have any problems using your system to its maximum capability.
forrestcupp is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 01:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Re: What do you think would be best?

Ok. What is the best way to install. Xp first or vista. I will be getting rid of xp when vista 64 becomes the main os in another year.
So will it make a difference if I will be getting rid of xp?
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 04:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: What do you think would be best?

The definitive dual-booting guide: Linux, Vista and XP step-by-step | APC Magazine

There is a nice guide on how to Dual Boot XP/Vista with Vista installed first or any which way you can think of.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 01:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Re: What do you think would be best?

After looking around I think I may dual boot but some say I need bartpe. Is this true or can I just install xp and do my stuff and then install vista and go about my business?
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 04:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Re: What do you think would be best?

I have dual booted and all seems to be working fine but I have a question. On my xp side my drives are different then on my vista side. I loaded xp first so c: was xp. Then I loaded vista later and when I was on my vista side vista became c: at least on vista side. I then formatted E: and my other hdd F. I looked at my drives on vista and here is what they are-
C: Vista
D: XP
E: Music and documents
F: Pictures, videos and programs files

When I go to my xp side the drives are arranged differently.
C: XP
D: Music and documents
E: Vista
F: Pictures, videos, and program files
It seems to be working fine but is this the norm. I tried to arrange it right but this is how it turned out. Anyone care to explain? Thanks.
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 05:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: What do you think would be best?

This is normal. Since you installed right from the CD and DVD each OS choose C:\ as its drive letter. This is completely normal. I have the same setup. which is actually nice cause i used a 3rd partition for my application installs like Adobe and such. Since the install can run from teh C:\ drive it works for both partitions easily. Just had to get some Registry entries.

It does this because the Windows like the C:\ drive to be the system drive. Since XP and Vista are coded differently they both can use the C:\ drive lettering by just adjusting the other ones drive letter. It doesnt affect your performance at all. At least not that i have seen.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.