what is difference between 32 and 64bit? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2008, 09:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default what is difference between 32 and 64bit?

I know there are a ton of differences, but I mean like :

why does 32 detect less then 4gbs of RAM?
what is the max it will recognize?
will most games run on 64 bit?
how different does 64bit look then 32??


From a guess it seems like 64 bit would be more server friendly. I'm going to be buying 4 gbs of ram for my build but I don't know if I should go with 64 bit just to pick up like 512mb of RAM :|
__________________

wafflehammer is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: what is difference between 32 and 64bit?

1. It recognizes less than 4GB cause that i sthe limit fo the kernel.
2. The max it will recognize is 3.5GB
3. Check the games website. They will tell you more than we will.
4. Vista 64 Bit is exactly like Vista 32 Bit but with the coding for 64 Bit.

All this onfo can be found via the search and google.

Getting 4GB of RAM and running 32 Bit will be only a hassle. You might not even get your OS installed. Use the search function to find threads relating to this as well.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: what is difference between 32 and 64bit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
1. It recognizes less than 4GB cause that i sthe limit fo the kernel.
2. The max it will recognize is 3.5GB
3. Check the games website. They will tell you more than we will.
4. Vista 64 Bit is exactly like Vista 32 Bit but with the coding for 64 Bit.

All this onfo can be found via the search and google.

Getting 4GB of RAM and running 32 Bit will be only a hassle. You might not even get your OS installed. Use the search function to find threads relating to this as well.
Wow ..i knew it wouldn't see all of it but i never knew it would cause issues with the OS..that's weird.

what is the max you can use without getting this "hassle"
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: what is difference between 32 and 64bit?

3GB is the max without any hassle. At least from my experience.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 11:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: what is difference between 32 and 64bit?

well then...seems okay

what are the pro's and con's of 64 bit vs 32 bit?
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 11:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: what is difference between 32 and 64bit?

As stated in my first post all that info can be found in those links. I can not really answer it as it is a opinion question. There are pro and cons for each. You have to decide what is right for you. I can not tell you.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 11:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: what is difference between 32 and 64bit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
As stated in my first post all that info can be found in those links. I can not really answer it as it is a opinion question. There are pro and cons for each. You have to decide what is right for you. I can not tell you.

well thanks a lot, you've been a great help
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 12:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: what is difference between 32 and 64bit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
3GB is the max without any hassle. At least from my experience.
Ummmmm, regardless of it being Windows or not, a 32-bit OS is a 32-bit OS. I thought it can only address up to 3.2 or something, at best. Theirs nothing anyone can do about it because that's how 32-bit os's are? So how is it a "hassle"? I put it 4GB when I was running Vista 32-bit months back and it recognized a bit above 3GB by itself?

Also, the way a 64-bit operating system works on a cpu that supports 64-bit (They've been around a lot longer then most people think), can be MUCH more efficient in how fast it can process data if it you use the write software. Theirs a lot more to it then me or anyone on here has talked about, google if it you want to find out more.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 01:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: what is difference between 32 and 64bit?

Yes Otis you are right. It can only recognize up to 3.5GB as i have said in post number 2. It was the 2nd point i made in that post. This is a limit of the 32 Bit kernel that was created back in the Windows 3.1 days and still used by Windows today. The Linux Kernel while different is the same way. Same with OS X since that is jsut a closed source version of BSD.

Having 4GB installed can cause issues. Read thru plenty of the topics here. You start to get random errors for memory access and such things. You almost postively can not install XP or Vista with 5GB upon boot as it gives you problems and errors. I have seen this on about 15 machines in the past month already. Adding to a system that already has 2GB and putting in 2GB might not cause you issues and you system might be fine. But the most common results are trouble.

Yes 64 Bit can be more efficient. But then again so can a quad core running 32 bit and a SMP application. That is a opinion that 64 Bit is more efficient since given the right application and a quad core even 32 bIt Windows XP can out run 64 Bit.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 01:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default Re: what is difference between 32 and 64bit?

now can Server 2003 see 4GB under 32-bit because of the PAE switch?
or this that something different with the whole o/s?
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.