What causes this? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2007, 06:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default What causes this?

Ok so I just got my xfx 7950 GT after not having a video card for 3 days. I put it in just to see if I get an image and I did. I then replaced the stock fanless heatsink with my vf-900 and copper ramsinks. I go to boot into windows and it locks up on loading. I then installed windows on another hd and I get these clicking noises in my headphones like when you have a ear infection and you swallow and then windows crashes and theres an error but it only shows for about a second. I turn restart on errors but now non comes up and it says windows is using a secondary registry file or something like that and the main one was corrupt. Also I tried some overclocking and it wasnt stable for 1 minute so I quickly shut it off and went back to normal specs but my issue seemed to occur before this. I also have a x2 3800+ and 2gb g.skill ram.
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 06:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

try the hardware section, they know more on...yep you guessed hardware but could it be a power problem?
__________________

__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 06:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default

i agree, it indeed sounds like a power supply issue... could you post the spec's of the second computer?
ECTech is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 07:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

My power supply is a three rail 550w antec powersupply, brand new. I installed Windows again and all seems well now.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 08:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

N/m, its still doing it but less often. If a mod could drag this into the hardware troubleshooting section since a reinstall of windows didnt fix this.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.