What browser do you use? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: 6800LE vs. 6600GT
Leadtek 6800LE 1 33.33%
Leadtek 6600GT 2 66.67%
Voters: 3. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2005, 01:16 AM   #11 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

MSN Premium, then as a backup I use FF.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 05:01 AM   #12 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Idon't care if they look differently. As long as its acceptable.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 02:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

Would you buy a porsche that looked like a '70 bug? It looks different, but it'll drive? Neg, sites should be shown the way they were made to, none of this bs of, well we can't make them exactly like it, but it's close =p
Demalii is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 02:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Demalii
Would you buy a porsche that looked like a '70 bug? It looks different, but it'll drive? Neg, sites should be shown the way they were made to, none of this bs of, well we can't make them exactly like it, but it's close =p
Only some pages look weird in third-party browsers. Not all of them. I also have an "Open in IE" button in case a website does not work.

"Be shown the way they were made to"

Shown in wich browser/program?

I am sure a website will look the way in Opera as it was made to look in Opera.
Same with FireFox.
Same with IE.

Websites that show correctly in IE, and show errors in FireFox or Opera are not fully standards compliant.

The sad thing is that not all websites are coded in a proper way, or they would work in all browsers.

Its the webmaster's fault. Blaim the website, don't blaim the browser.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 05:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

Firefox is excellent - I'd take it over IE any day. As for Opera, I haven't used that yet but hear its good as well.
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 05:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

ADVICE PEOPLE: do not let this poll become a flaming or arguing point.....its is simply a poll on which browser you use.....if this gets out of hand it will be closed immediately.
jaksback is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 07:53 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

The one and only time I tried Opera, I was literally sitting here waiting for the page to come up. With FireFox and a few respective tweaks, it's like I am viewing files on my computer, very smooth transitioning, rocket fast page loads.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 09:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

no no i'm just saying as my opinion.. i'd rather view the site as it was made to be viewed.. and since IE is still the leading browser, it's unlikely to find major sites that are created especially for opera and FF.. since a lot of people are not computer literate, they don't know about downloading thirdparty browsers.

So that's why I said, view it the way it's meant to be viewed.

ya feel me?
Demalii is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 02:58 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380
Default

Firefox is c l for basic web surfing activities. I like the weather forecasts and IRC plug-ins and the themes too but some sites like Yahoo! Launch do require IE or Netscape. This is where IE comes in.
piggysmile is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 06:29 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I use Firefox and Opera. and if I have to I will use IE
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.