What is the Admin Password during Repair ???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2007, 08:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Question What is the Admin Password during Repair ????

I'm trying to do a Install REPAIR on a laptop running XP Pro. I type "R" to enter the repair console and it then comes up with an Administrator Password ?

I did the XP install on this HD not long ago and did NOT set any Admin Password.

When I simply hit Enter at the Prompt, I get thrown into a DOS Prompt C:Windows/

Where do I go from here ????
__________________

Katmandu is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 08:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: What is the Admin Password during Repair ????

You don't use the repair console to do a repair. You go to the partition format area and select a partition to repair.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 08:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: What is the Admin Password during Repair ????

Is it possible that windows is requiring the Bios Admin Password?
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 08:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: What is the Admin Password during Repair ????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brinson View Post
Is it possible that windows is requiring the Bios Admin Password?
No, its his admin account password which is blank. So when he hits enter, he gets right into the DOS Prompt.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 10:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: What is the Admin Password during Repair ????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Katmandu View Post
I'm trying to do a Install REPAIR on a laptop running XP Pro. I type "R" to enter the repair console and it then comes up with an Administrator Password ?

I did the XP install on this HD not long ago and did NOT set any Admin Password.

When I simply hit Enter at the Prompt, I get thrown into a DOS Prompt C:Windows/

Where do I go from here ????
Depends on what you are trying to fix. Since you didn't tell why you are doing the repair, I can only suggest you do the following from there:
chkdsk -r
fixboot
fixmbr

Otherwise reboot and don't select the repair console, but continue on like pete said until it asks you which installation you want to repair. If it doesn't ask you at some point, but wants to format your drive, a repair probably wouldn't work anyway and you may have a failed drive or your Windows install is too corrupt to repair.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 10:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: What is the Admin Password during Repair ????

that repair option won't show if you don't have the right xp disc, so make sure you have the right one
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forgot your Admin Password ??? mantoadmire Microsoft Windows and Software 0 07-25-2007 07:57 AM
Computer asking me for Admin password? what?? mobkon Microsoft Windows and Software 3 06-20-2007 11:46 PM
Password issue wicked23 Microsoft Windows and Software 13 06-18-2007 11:02 PM
Getting by password in Vista lancec2c30 Microsoft Windows and Software 12 05-27-2007 06:01 AM
Automated/Self-Service Password Reset star_topology Microsoft Windows and Software 8 05-23-2007 02:44 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.